Skip to content
June 15, 2010 / dcwisdom

Night at the Movies to Class Reunion

Robin Hood

Yep —  There he is.  Russell Crowe.  Mr. Robin Hood himself. 

Friends Brooker and Rosa, Kid #5 Mary, and I went to the moving picture show tonight.  Brooker called me and said, “Debbie, they wear tights.”  I replied, “I’ll be right over.” 

The picture above came straight off the screen.  I was waiting for a tights shot, but none of the guys wore tights.  Brooker had to eat her words, but the movie was good, and I want Cate Blanchett’s hair.

I think someday, I will grow my hair long.  I had long hair (below the bra strap) in high school and have worn it shorter since.  Back in high school, a few girls and I had a hair cutting party one night.  The Farrah Fawcett/Jacqueline Smith (of Charlie’s Angels fame) hair was popular – long and cut in layers.  We girls figured that if we bent over and pulled our hair to the tops of our heads and made a straight cut, our hair would have layers.  And, it worked.  Our hair fell right into place.  We also washed our hair and pony-tailed it on top, wound hair around small orange juice cans, and let it dry overnight.  The next morning, we would have full-bodied hair and curls.  It was so cool, man.

The big bobby-pin curls gave us (kinda) the same look that girls wear today.  We were divas.  (Example of the hair below.)

Rick and Debbie's first date

L-R:  Tommy Lee Williams with my sister Mindy-Laura, Rick, and me.  Sweet Tommy Lee asked me to marry him before Rick and I dated, but we were still in high school.   I told him ‘yes’ but reneged later for Rick.

I don’t remember what I was supposed to remember with the ribbon on my finger…  This picture was Rick’s and my first date, a Sadie Hawkins dance in 1973.   We both had funky hair.  How about those dresses?  Mom made all us girls’ clothes, even our prom dresses.  Rick’s pants were pink.  I was so in love; he was a drummer for a non-famous rock band and sooooo hot!

This weekend is my 36th class reunion.  I remember years ago thinking that people who lived until their 36th class reunion were really old.   I’m sure that youngsters still think that.  I’d like to say “Hello” to my class at Wolf High – Jon, Nancy, Joel, Harold Raye, James, Jennifer, Doug, Patty, Lisa, Dennis, Ricky, Baker, Linda, Kenny, Tim, Paula, Don, Mike, Shirley, Della, Charles, Steve, Roy, Doug S., David, Vernon, Phil, Valton, Donald, and Cathy.  We are missing several classmates now, but this is my class.  I wish you all the best, and I will miss you this year.

Class of 1974

I won’t be at the class reunion this weekend.  Kid #4 Sam is on his way home from Asia, even as I write this.  He is full of stories that I want to hear, and he’ll return to his work schedule in Dallas on Monday.  No offense to my friends, but I want to see my Sam.

From Russell Crowe to Sam, I’ve just let my mind drift and my fingers type.  This is so random.

Oh…P.S.  I picked plums yesterday.  I’ll be making plum jelly this week and will put my makings up here when it’s all done.

P.P.S.  Sam just sent a text from his iPod in Hong Kong.  They have a four- hour layover.  He said “Hey Mom!  This is your son Samuel!”  I can’t wait for that boy to get home!  Thank you, friends, for all your prayers!

God bless you.  God bless Israel.  God help America.

14 Comments

  1. Linda Sue / Jun 16 2010 8:14 PM

    Our old hairstyles tell a lot about how much time we had to MESS with our hair don’t they? Nowadays I need clean and quick – so I keep my fine hair short, colored and moussed! So glad your son is on his way home – exciting and rewarding work he has been doing but time to have a chance to feed him at your table and hear his adventures.

  2. Paula Parks / Jun 16 2010 9:46 AM

    Hey! Thanks for coming by LoneStarLifer and commenting. I also graduated in 1974. I recognized the hair and dress styles in the picture above!
    Enjoy your son and give him hugs (((((( )))))) from all of us out in cyberspace.
    Take care.
    LoneStarLifer
    Paula

  3. Glenda / Jun 16 2010 9:30 AM

    So glad your Sam is on his way home! I know there will lots of excitement at your house! I love the sweet picture of you and your husband. I remember the days of orange juice can curlers, too. How lucky you and your sister were to have a mom that sewed all your clothes. Sweet memories! I’m picking blueberries over in Edom next Tuesday and then I’m going to start my summer jelly making, too. I look forward to seeing pictures of yours.

  4. Patty / Jun 16 2010 9:08 AM

    What mother in her right mind would want to go to a high school reunion over her son coming home!!! NOT ME!! Will be praying for Sam for a safe trip back to the U.S.
    My 35th class reunion is this summer. Can’t wait to see some of the people I have been facebooking with. I wouldn’t care if I went or not actually. I would just like to see what’s going on with people though. We are old Debbie..what ya’ talking about…I am ready for my 50th reunion.

  5. Rayanne / Jun 16 2010 8:45 AM

    Hello Debbie,
    So sorry I have taken so long to get back with you. I have been at my daughter’s in Grandview visiting with my grandchildren. I will get back to blogging soon. Those (4) little kids have so much energy….I’m pooped out.
    Cute pics…you are so pretty, girl!

  6. Debby Pucci / Jun 16 2010 5:31 AM

    I with you, I would stay home for my sons return too!
    I didn’t go to my last reunion. My husband and I were in the same class and he always says why would I want to see those old people!!

  7. V (stickhorsecowgirl) / Jun 16 2010 4:33 AM

    I think you made the right choice to see your boy! We’ve got funny old photos too–like my hubby in these wild 1970’s checkered pants. I can’t believe I let him wear something that bad!lol

  8. tanna / Jun 16 2010 4:30 AM

    Woo Hoo for Sam’s coming home! I can see why that would take precedence over a class reunion! BTW, I’m a class of ’74, too! LOL! Time does fly. Yea, for Sam again!

  9. Deb / Jun 15 2010 9:48 PM

    So glad Sam is on his way home…can understand why you will be passing on the reunion…my 30th reunion is this fall…but won’t be attending…still see the one’s I want to see…and facebook keeps me caught up on a lot of them…

  10. Vickie / Jun 15 2010 9:15 PM

    Oh Debbie – give Sam an extra hug from all of your blogging buddies! We’ve been praying for him and hearing about his adventures these past weeks and he just needs another big ole hug!

    Me & my sister did plum jelly this weekend, and I’ve still got a big bucket left to do. You have a great reunion with your boy and let us hear from ya real soon – with pictures! love you, girl – Vickie

    (I had Farrah Fawcett hair in the 70’s, too… – will have to show some of my lovely photos sometime – if ya think you can stand it!)

  11. Lois / Jun 15 2010 7:55 PM

    What fun pictures! Do you think the ribbon on your finger was just to make you look prettier?

    Glad your son is coming home and I’m sure you’ll fill us in on all he’s been up to and maybe a few pictures?

    Enjoy the jelly!

  12. Debbie / Jun 15 2010 6:32 PM

    I meant to say….”I can’t think of anything that’s more important”.
    My fingers type so fast!!!!!
    Debbie

  13. Debbie / Jun 15 2010 6:30 PM

    By now, I’m sure Sam is in intensive care from being ‘squeezed’ to death! I don’t blame you a bit. I can’t think of that’s more important.
    Well, I emailed ya, and I think I’ll leave it at that:P
    Debbie

  14. Sue / Jun 15 2010 4:18 PM

    Thanks for stopping by Thistlepatch. I have not been doing much blog visiting but so enjoy stopping by your corner of the world! I was class of 75 and do think I had a dress made from the same pattern as yours! Enjoy the reunion with Sam- beats a reunion with classmates any day! I can’t even begin to imagine what the Great Reunion will be like!

Comments are closed.