Skip to content
June 10, 2010 / dcwisdom

A Blogger’s Day and News from Indonesia

Oh – the fun!

Crazy Bloggers

Several of us bloggers were meeting together this week, planning a two to three-day hiatus, but only three of us met in East Texas on a quest to have fun!

Tara at New Day New Season, Vickie at Sand Flat Farm, and I proved yesterday that fun can be had without a nip of the alkehol, except that we did have a Mike’s Hard Pomegranate Lemonade in the afternoon.   We found a cute bathroom in Jefferson, Texas, along with a cemetery and a few antique malls and a few good restaurants…  Some people might have thought we were a little nipped, we had such fun.

We met in Marshall and went straight to Scottsville Cemetery, less than ten miles to the east.  This cemetery began as a place of burial for fallen Confederate soldiers.

Confederate Man

Weeping Angel

Does anyone know the name of this statue? 

Scottsville Cemetery

Ok, I know you don’t want to see any more cemetery pictures, so I’ll move along.  But, if you ever get a chance to visit here, you’ll find it a fascinating stop.  On to Marshall…

Blogging Buddies

We stopped for lunch and antique shopping at the Weisman Building in Marshall.

Lunch at Weisman in Marshall

Did a little shopping…

bread board

I wanted this board, but instead I bought a book from the Friends of the Library book sale (Nicholas Sparks’ The Lucky One) and a big pink t-shirt that says ‘Get your big girl panties on and deal with it!’  Maybe someday Rick can cut a round board and I can paint and stencil it.  I just couldn’t bring myself to pay the $69.50 for the board.  Really.

We drove to Jefferson to the Excelsior House Hotel, the oldest hotel in this area dating back to the 1850’s.  Plenty of folk-lore surrounds this old and beautiful house hotel, some calling it haunted.  I don’t know about this first hand, and because of the possibility of housing ghosts, I won’t stay there.   But, if you are braver than I, go for it.  (Yes, I do believe.)

Jefferson's Excelsior House Hotel

Tara?

Apparently, poor Tara can’t follow simple instructions.  Vickie and I found her trying to break into the hotel with her eyes closed.

Coconut Cream Pie

We had pie at the Hamburger Store. 

silly girls

In the General Store, we laughed at silly cards and tried on silly glasses.  Just being silly.   We had such a great day!   We told several people that we were bloggers and just met each other today.  They probably thought we were long-time girlfriends.  And we are.  Soul friends.  Soul sisters.  Tara and Vickie, I love you girls!

I had a short email today from Kid #4 Sam.  The mission team is in Indonesia, and Sam is flying to Aceh on Saturday where the tsunami hit five years ago.  I remember when the tsunami came ashore there.  I watched tv for hours, watching and crying, hearing the death toll rise well past 200,000 souls.   I prayed then that the Lord would send people there to work and help the people and open the door to spread the Gospel.  Little did I know that five years later the Lord would use my son to answer my prayers.  God answered my prayers along with millions of others’ prayers, and He continues to send those who say “Yes” to Him.  Sam will be preaching to thousands of people in back-to-back sermons.  Please pray for him and his preparation and his flight to and from Aceh.  That realization to me is overwhelming, and I am crying as I write this.   Bless the Lord!

God bless you.  God bless Israel.  God help America.

10 Comments

  1. mary / Jun 11 2010 3:28 PM

    What a fun post! If you’re ever in Northwestern Pennsylvania, I hope we can get together. Love hearing about Sam. What a terrific young man!

  2. Nola at Alamo North / Jun 11 2010 12:17 AM

    It looks like you girls had a blast! I couldn’t pay that much for the bread board either, sheesh! I guess some people have more money than sense, huh?

  3. tanna / Jun 11 2010 12:11 AM

    Debbie, it looks like ya’ll had SUCH a good time! And, the Scottsville cemetery if one of my favorite spots in the whole wide world. I have framed photos of the weeping angel… she is so moving. When we were coming back down I-20 and passed the sign to Scottsville, I smiled thinking of all the many times I have gone there… only to get home and find your post about it! (I ended up not getting to play in the golf tournament, but needing to help a friend get his mom from W VA to Longview). Sam will remain in my prayers.

  4. Patty / Jun 10 2010 11:01 PM

    the pictures weren’t boring and it looked as though you all had fun. that’s what counts…

    glad to hear you have heard from Sam. will be praying for him and his team.

    keep the blogging coming.

  5. Debbie / Jun 10 2010 6:19 PM

    I feel so left out! I can’t quit laughing at the quote you put under Tara’s picture. I would have enjoyed more pictures of the statues in that cemetery. I gotta to there. What detail just on the fingers of that statue! WoW! Pie at the hamburger store. Happy thought indeed. I’m glad you did not pay $70. for the board! Who are they kidding? YOu can make that for $4.40 IF you have to buy the wood. Everything looks so nice. Love the mirror. I do hope you bought the glasses:)
    Love ya
    Deb

  6. Tara / Jun 10 2010 10:55 AM

    Boy did we have a good ole Texas time! Love that crazy picture of me trying to open the locked door! DUH!

    I started out laughing as I read your post and ended up crying. I can’t imagine how your mama heart is feeling with your son so far away and doing such an awesome work for the Lord. WOW! I am praying for him and for you.

    Can’t wait to get together again.

    Didn’t get to blog again today, spent half of it in Hughes Springs at HOLLY HILLS!!!! and the other half with my dad. Please pray for him, he isn’t doing to well.

    hugs,
    tiara

  7. Glenda / Jun 10 2010 8:57 AM

    Looks like you all had a great time! I’ve never been to Marshall, but I love Jefferson. That pie looked so good I could almost taste it!

  8. Stacey at Living by Faith / Jun 10 2010 8:25 AM

    It sounds like you girls had such a great time! That is a great picture of the 3 of you.

  9. Vickie / Jun 10 2010 8:14 AM

    Love it! I have thought about yesterday ALL DAY today. I had such fun! I’m ready for another’n!!! ‘N I HAD A ROOT BEER FLOAT INSTEAD OF LEMONADE! I wanta ‘nuther holiday!!! It wadn’t long enough!

  10. audioearth / Jun 10 2010 8:01 AM

    hi your picture are very beautiful, i like them.
    welcome to my blog.

Comments are closed.