Skip to content
June 5, 2010 / dcwisdom

Ain’t Got No Respect

Inch…inch…inch…inch…

Mom and I were in the convenience store parking lot, and she was backing out of the space.  Inching out of the space.  Literally.  Heavy foot on the brake.  Inch…inch…inch…

I looked over to my right.  There, in a big white duly truck, was a big hairy man, looking at me, shrugging his shoulders, hands in the air, his scowling face mouthing “huhhhh?”

I said to Mom, “Mom, a man’s waiting on you.”

“Well,” she replied, “I’m trying not to hit any thing.  He can just wait.”   Inch…inch…inch…

Looking back at the man, he was even more animated.  I flung my door open, strode to his truck, put my mama face on, and got out my pointer finger and shoved it into his face.  “Young man,” I said sternly, “you be patient.  She recently lost her husband and has fought cancer, so you just get happy and let her move as slowly as she needs to!”  I tramped back to the car.

Well, truth be said, he was animated, but I really didn’t confront him.  I just wanted to.  Actually, as we passed his truck, I just shrugged my shoulders and mouthed a “sorry” to him.

And started thinking.  What has happened to respect?  General respect?

Now, this actually did happen.  After Mom took me home, I decided to return to the convenience store for a gallon of milk.  As I was driving, I was thinking about how dirty my car was looking and decided to drive through the car wash.  When I got to the car wash, the drive-thru machine wouldn’t take coins, so I chose a stall and pulled in. 

I was feeling a little creeped out.  It was late, after 10, and I was the only car around.  But everything was well-lit, and there was a little traffic on the street.  Still…I was feeling weird.  So, I put my keys in my pocket, took out my gun and put it in the back of my jeans (like all the cool people do on tv), locked my car, and began putting quarters in the machine.

From nowhere, this dirty, grimy guy appeared.  He stood towards the rear end of my car and yelled at me, “Hey, can you give me a jump?” 

Well, I jumped and stared him down and yelled “NO!”  I thought ‘if he moves toward me, I’m going to draw my gun.’  We both stood there, staring at each other.  Finally, he shrugged and walked away.  He made a good choice.

Would rather lose my money than my life, so I jumped in the car and locked the door.  As I drove to the street, I saw not one car, anywhere.  Where had the guy come from?  How stupid was I!  To be there alone, late at night on a whim!  Why do we do the silly things we do?!

Yet, where’s the respect?  Where are the gentlemen?  Where is chivalry?  Has our world become so lost and undone that common courtesies are nowhere to be found? 

We are, indeed, lost and undone.   That’s the reason we need The Savior Jesus, our gentleman Savior.  He’s the One who righted the wrongs.  He’s the One who came to set the captive free.  The One who rectified and sanctified all those who believe and put their trust in Him to Creator God.  The One Who loves us with an everlasting love.  Only the Beloved Son Jesus, our Redeemer.  All praise belongs to Him, Who sits at the right hand of God.

God bless you today.  God bless Israel.  God help America.

11 Comments

  1. Debby Pucci / Jun 11 2010 11:57 PM

    It really sad isn’t it? Do we blame it on the parents?
    I know that I taught my son well and he is pretty layed back but gee who knows what he is like when he is waiting for someone to creep out slowly from a parking spot. I want to assume that he would be very kind but I surely can’t guarantee that!

  2. Stacey at Living by Faith / Jun 8 2010 9:33 PM

    Very scary indeed! I am glad you are ok.

    The whole story in the parking lot is sadly a common occurrence around here. Everyone is in a hurry. So many drive around with a sense of entitlement.

  3. Mary Humphrey / Jun 8 2010 6:25 AM

    I live out there, between small towns, and I can safely say even the small towns are not safe. I lock my doors during the day, even while in my shop.

    I am glad you were able to leave safely. I would have been scared out of my wits. I am glad you quickly said NO and left!!!

    It is good to have God with us…very good.

  4. Sue / Jun 8 2010 4:16 AM

    Isn’t it wonderful to know that He is with us always? Praying for this country and for Israel as well.

  5. dcwisdom / Jun 7 2010 8:46 PM

    Yeah, well, I knew I would ‘git it’ from my friends, and thanks for caring. You know, you just don’t think that small towns are as dangerous as large cities, but things are a’changin’. So sad!

  6. Glenda / Jun 7 2010 8:53 AM

    I can relate to both of those stories. I’ve wanted to get out of the car many times and wag my finger in someone’s face. I think that’s the teacher in me. I want everyone to be respectful and in this imperfect world that will never happen. Car washes really creep me out. You’re just too vulnerable in the one’s where you have to get out of the car. Next time, send your husband. That’s pretty amazing that you tote a gun, though.

  7. Patty / Jun 6 2010 10:33 PM

    WHAT WERE YOU THINKING?! Even here in the Midwest state of Indiana we do not go to the carwash by ourself late at night…crazy you!! Glad you are o.k. And you asked what happen to our country…well, just look around. Not too many who raise their children to say “Please” or “Thank you” or teach them that Jesus loves them. Just glad you are o.k. and you do have Jesus to watch over you.

  8. mary / Jun 6 2010 4:36 PM

    Surely the Lord kept you safe.

  9. Vickie / Jun 6 2010 10:06 AM

    Where’s my switch???? You should have your backside tanned! I’m glad you had your gun anyways. Please don’t do that again out late at night washing your car! Debbie’s right – you’d have jumped all over your girls if one of ’em did that. And I would, too. We don’t want nothin’ to happen to ya!

    3 more days!!!

    Glad you heard from Sam – sounds like he’s not only working but having a little R&R, too. Great! They need to! Chickie

  10. Debbie / Jun 6 2010 4:11 AM

    Promise me that you will never go out alone like that at night again! There’s all kind of nuts out there and they just double after dark! You know you would have had a fit it one of your kids did that! (I’ve got my ‘momma’ face on!) 😦 Girl!
    Love ya
    Debbie

  11. tanna / Jun 6 2010 2:41 AM

    Girl, I’m glad you were alright. That is a little scary. What has happened to our country? Glad you were prepared… in both ways.

Comments are closed.