Skip to content
June 4, 2010 / dcwisdom

After All the Hoopla

May 2010

 

Ahhh, June… 

Hello, June!

I welcome the month of June which, for me, signifies the coming end of months of hoopla and ballyhoo:  birthdays, recitals, graduations, school plays, weddings, bridal showers, band concerts, ball games…  It was fun, but *Hallelujah* May is over. 

I mean, have you ever taken a moment and just looked at the calendar?   Not that my calendar is any busier than yours.  Mine is probably a good picture of the typical American woman, though.  Crazy. 

I heard from Kid #4 Sam today.  As you read this, remember that Sam is 19 going on 30.  Such a funny kid… 

Hey mom, well we have been in Penang having our free days! Tomorrow the rest of the team heads back to Dallas… And we will be here for 5 more days, 4 nights.. then we’re off to Indo! It’s gonna be awesome! I was originally supposed to go to Batam, Indo… But there was some complication so they are sending me to another city… I think the one that got hit really bad by that tsunami a few years ago!? We are all going to different places in Indo…. I will be speaking at the main services on sunday the 13th. I have 2 services that are back-to-back. After that I’m not sure what is happening. But it will be an experience. We have been hanging out all over the place here on Penang Island. We have been to the beach 3 days, hiked a little ways up Penang mountain, went to a few night markets, a few malls, went to TGIF…. It’s been a lot of fun! They always have 3 days of just fun after the trips… We only had 1 day off the whole time from the time we landed in Thailand till we got done with ministry here in Malaysia… So it’s been really nice to just take a rest and sit out on the beach and go parasailing and jet skiing! Anyways, I heard Mary got a job. I’m so proud! lol! They grow up so fast……..(sniff sniff) Tell all the kiddos and Pops I said “Ello” (British accent) Can’t wait to see all of y’all! Have a good thursday! Love ya!

  

Your absolute most favorite son EVER,
Sam
 
I can’t wait for Sam to get home.  I think I’ll just mark down my calendar days until he gets here.  Just sit here and watch the calendar.  Just sit here and watch.  Sit and watch.  Sit.  Watch. 
 
No, I guess I can’t do that.  Besides, I already have things on my calendar for this month. 
 
🙂 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

5 Comments

  1. mary / Jun 4 2010 3:32 PM

    I’ll bet you’ll be glad when he’s home. I think he must get his humor from you 🙂

  2. tanna / Jun 4 2010 8:08 AM

    I’m looking forward to June because my daughter will be bringing Little Man for a visit! I’m with you sitting and watching the calendar… though your calendar watch is much more stressful! I’m glad Sam is well and his sense of humor intact. =)

  3. Steve / Jun 4 2010 6:56 AM

    Just wanted to say I always enjoy going to your blog! Keep up the superlative work!!

    Steve
    Common Cents
    http://www.commoncts.blogspot.com

  4. Patty / Jun 4 2010 4:34 AM

    Love June…more graduations, weddings, and my son’s birthday!!! He will be 20 yrs. old!

    Glad to hear you heard from Sam..Kind of scary having him over in another country. Don’t know which is worse having them in another country for the war or for God’s work…both are good things just scary task.

    Praying for Sam and his group. Hoping they get home soon!

  5. Mary Humphrey / Jun 4 2010 3:25 AM

    The graduation parties are still going on here. I think after this week it will all slow down…the markings on the calender that is.

    I love June because it is summer, and just the beginning of it. We still have a long ways to go before contemplating winter!

Comments are closed.