Skip to content
May 25, 2010 / dcwisdom

Birthday Man

Well, I was working on a birthday story of Kid#2 Rich.  He’s 24 today.  It was just the greatest post, but he begged me not to post it.  So, here’s his little bitty birthday picture instead of the BIG one –

(And I’m only saying a few words about my birthday son, Rich…)

Rich's 24th Birthday

You are just so cute, and I couldn’t let the opportunity pass to let my handful of dear readers know how much I love you.  Moms just can’t help it.  Hearts just burst and gush with love when their babies have birthdays.  It’s all in the pregnancy, birthing, and rearing process.  You see, I walked the hospital hallways all night long just to get you here while your dad slept on the waiting room couch.  And then, the doctor couldn’t miss his own kid’s birthday party at noon, so he put me in the bed and gave me this horrible stuff in the IV called ‘pitosin’ that forced labor on my body and sent my contractions off the chart.  Rich, you can’t imagine the pain I withstood to get you here!    *whine*

When you were two or three, you and I were going into town one day, and I asked you if you wanted to go to the grocery store on the loop.  You said, “No, Mom, on the woop.”   I said, “Rich, the store is on the loop.”  “No, Mom, on the woop.”  “Is the store on the woop?”  “Yes, Mom, on the woop.”  “Ok, the store is on the woop.”  “Yes, Mom, the woop.”  Precious!

Do you remember the night, about 1:30, that I woke you to crawl under the house and rescue newborn kittens?  I could hear them through the floor, and you were so brave to crawl underneath the house to find the kitties…in the dark…with spiders and snakes…and a flashlight…   *creepy* 

Wow!  Twenty-four years of great memories!  I could go on…but for your sake and the sakes of my readers, I’ll refrain.  I just used a few words of the 25,000 I could have used…

Today, you and I shared your 24th birthday over salad and pizza.  Just a short time with my lovely son.  My heart was gushing!  Still is!  (Can’t help it!)

Rich, Happy Birthday!  I love you so much!   So, by George, your picture is going up!  🙂

4 Comments

  1. Tara / May 28 2010 6:53 PM

    Tears in eyes! I know exactly how you feel about your sweet son. Mine will be turning 24 this month too! I could write a book about all the fun times we had while he was growing up and a few not so fun, but we won’t go there.
    Hugs,
    Tara

  2. jeanette / May 25 2010 11:58 PM

    Hee hee. Mom’s the world over will understand this post.

  3. Debby Pucci / May 25 2010 10:41 AM

    How sweet. Happy Birthday Rich!

  4. Vickie / May 25 2010 10:12 AM

    Aw, that’s a mom post for sure! A proud mom! Isn’t it fun to look back and remember all those little things? I love to get the kids’ old videos out and watch them and remember… sigh… bittersweet sometimes… wishing for those times back…

    So good to talk to you today, buddy! Big hug!

Comments are closed.