Skip to content
May 19, 2010 / dcwisdom

City Hall Is Burning

Early in the week, Sam’s team entered …  No doubt, they were on a dangerous mission.  My nerves were a little on edge.

Thailand Taxi

I had only a few moments of anxiety…well, ok, maybe more than a few.   The mission consumed my thoughts and prayers.  I can only imagine what the poor mother of the jailed hikers in Iran is going through.  My thoughts and prayers are with her and her children as she attempts to negotiate their release with that government of extremists.   And, as for the young men and women taking the Gospel into…, it’s a big adventure.

So, I finally heard from Sam:

(the first email)

Sorry I haven’t had time to email! And the internet has been down here.. But we are back in Khon Kaen! Right now we are safe. The red shirts have burned down the city hall here in Khon Kaen so we are not sure what to do next here. We are contacting CFNI and the missionaries here to see what to do next… I’ll email you later when I get a chance. I love you all! Please send out some prayer requests.

(the second email)

Please don’t be flipping out reading the last email. If you watch the news it’s not NEAR that bad. WE ARE ALL SAFE! We have contacted CFNI and let them know the situation. If they think it is too bad they will fly us home….. but it will cost the school over $25,000 so we are trying to find other options. I REPEAT, WE ARE SAFE! The conflict has been resolved. And besides a few small groups of rebels in Bangkok, the fighting has stopped. So please, as much as you can, don’t worry! We are fine, I promise.  I love you both! I promise I’ll keep you updated as much as possible! Hope you are all sleeping well! Today has been great so far! We went to the Buddhist schools and did our “culture exchange”  And it went very well. Around 20 high school aged children gave their lives to Christ and accepted Him as their Savior! And we had the opportunity to lay hands on and pray for two of the main teachers at the school. The school has over 3,000 students. Tomorrow we will go back and speak to the senior high schoolers. So pray for souls and salvations! Anyways, I’ll keep you updated! Can’t wait to get back and tell you all the stories! I love you! I’ll send more pics later!
Your most favorite son EVER,
Samuel

I just love all the exclamation marks!  I can tell he’s excited!  I wish you could know Sam.  He’s such a great kid.  Young man. 

Today, I think I’ll weedeat my yard at the renovation house and maybe pick a few more blackberries.  Then later this afternoon, I’m working my paying job with Video Perfection Photography.  This week, we’re working for Texarkana College – graduation, fund-raisers, itty-bitty car races.  Fun stuff.

Friends, have a wonderful day.  God bless Israel.  God help America.

10 Comments

  1. Laura / May 25 2010 1:02 AM

    Praying, Praying and still Praying for Sam and your family.

  2. Mary Humphrey / May 21 2010 5:43 AM

    Goodness, you have to stay busy and pray and lot, to not worry. Such a honorable thing your son is doing. As you said, “lives being saved for an eternity.”

  3. Glenda / May 21 2010 5:15 AM

    Your Sam will be fine and just think how his faith is growing! I’m so glad that he is considerate enough to keep you updated so often.

  4. mary / May 20 2010 3:27 PM

    I’ll be your faith is growing by leaps! (I’d be bitting my nails while I’m praying.) Hang in there!!!!

  5. Patty / May 20 2010 8:04 AM

    glad to know that Sam has checked in with you. Praying for you all.

  6. tanna / May 20 2010 6:02 AM

    So glad Sam in checking in regularly and is doing fine. One of the ladies I played golf with today took a call from her daughter while were playing. The daughter lives 15 miles from all the trouble in Bangkok (sp?). We stopped right there on the tee box, joined hands and said a prayer for her and her family… she has two baby girls. It is so scary. Will continue the prayers… t

  7. Rayanne / May 20 2010 3:56 AM

    It’s really neat that you are letting us read his e-mails, I so feel closer to the whole thing and praying is on point.
    I get so excited when I hear young people coming to Jesus, I just get so excited!!!Thank you Debbie for your updates.

  8. Diana Ferguson / May 20 2010 2:32 AM

    Know you were so glad to get the emails from him. You can almost hear his voice, right?

  9. nola at alamo north / May 20 2010 1:57 AM

    I love the part “please don’t be flipping out”! Oh, to be young and invincible again! He will be okay, and remember what great memories he’s making.

  10. Debbie / May 19 2010 9:26 PM

    I’m so glad that Sam is vigilent in keeping his mom updated. That is important! Also glad they are safe and that we have a Father who hears us and loves us. What a wonderful work they are doing there and lives being saved for eternity. I’ve always been too weak a Christian to hope my kids would be missionaries:(
    I see you’re staying busy! Wise woman; makes time go faster.
    Deb

Comments are closed.