Skip to content
May 14, 2010 / dcwisdom

Urgent…News from Hong Kong/Bangkok

I heard from Sam this evening after his long flight to Hong Kong.

And then I heard about the current situation in Bangkok, their next stop.  Seems the country of Thailand has had much civil unrest recently, and today Thailand declared a State of Emergency in Bangkok and 15 other provinces.  The American Embassy there was closed today. 

I don’t know what the team’s status is.  We’re only communicating by email now.  This is what Sam emailed earlier:

Ok… well we are waiting on our flight… Hong Kong is nice… It’s very beautiful! Right off the coast and there are mountains and hills everywhere! The weather is good.. Mostly cloudy and 26 degrees… Celsius, that is. lol! Our plane for Bangkok leaves in about 30 mins. Then we’ll spend the rest of the day traveling to Khon Kaen. It feels like I’ve been traveling FOREVER! The flight here was over 15 hours and dark outside the whole time. It was fun looking out the window on all the cities below. We flew up to Alaska (didn’t land) then made a loop and traveled the coast the whole way. Going over Japan was fun! The cities are big! Anyways, just letting you know what’s up! I know ya’ll are prolly asleep there. I haven’t hardly slept since I left. The planes are not very comfortable to sleep on. I’ll tty whenever I get the chance! I love you!

I am asking you to please keep this situation in your prayers.  My heart is calm, and I am trusting in the Lord to keep his servants safe.  These young people are doing God’s work.  Jesus said, Go out and train everyone you meet, far and near, in this way of life, marking them by baptism in the threefold name:  Father, Son, and Holy Spirit.  Then instruct them in the practice of all I have commanded you.  I’ll be with you as you do this, day after day after day, right up to the end of the age.  (Matthew 28:19-20 The Message Remix)

They may be preaching in the airport.

God bless you all.

9 Comments

  1. Stacey at Living by Faith / May 15 2010 8:33 AM

    I’m praying!

  2. Laura / May 15 2010 6:58 AM

    Praying!

  3. Rayanne / May 15 2010 5:51 AM

    I am with you in prayer!

  4. Patty / May 14 2010 9:41 PM

    Father God: I ask that you be with Sam and his group that are going out into this world that is full of hatred and taking your word and filling it with love. Lord, I ask that you make it a safe enviroment for them while they are there…keep the evil away!! Bless each and everyone of Sam’s group Lord and give them the strength they all need. In this I pray, in Jesus name. Amen.

    Not really good at prayers Debbie but know that God answers even the smallest prayer in some way. Prayer’s go out to you and all the families that have a son/daughter traveling with this group also. Keep us posted.

    • dcwisdom / May 14 2010 10:25 PM

      Thank you, Patty. I appreciate your friendship and your prayers for Sam and his team. God bless you, dear one.

  5. Miss A / May 14 2010 6:36 PM

    Praying!

    ~Miss A

    PS: I LOVE your new blog layout/background!!!

  6. nola at alamo north / May 14 2010 6:09 PM

    I didn’t know things were bad over there; truthfully, I don’t listen to the news because it brings me down, there’s rarely anything positive reported.
    Hope the group stays safe and out of harms way.

  7. tanna / May 14 2010 6:01 PM

    ….. amen.

  8. Vickie / May 14 2010 10:02 AM

    I wonder what’s going on in Bangkok? State of emergency? What does that mean? Well, Lord only knows. I’ve been praying for CALM for you and your family. But He is going with them, Deb. We’ll all continue lifting this team up in prayer for safety and safe passage wherever they go. Thanks for the update – I think their trip is going to be so interesting. I’m anxious to hear all about it – and hear that each day and night Sam and his friends are steppingi out in faith to bring the gospel to a lost people. I know you are all proud of him! I am, too!

Comments are closed.