Skip to content
May 13, 2010 / dcwisdom

It’s like pulling teeth…

I had a tooth pulled some time ago.  It was a tough booger!  Even though my entire face was numb, I could feel the pressure of the dental instrument, clamping the tooth, and the dentist pulling and tugging.  The tooth fought to stay in, but the dentist finally won. 

Have you ever tried to get information out of a boy?   Ummhmmm…you know what I’m talkin’ about.  I think the next time I need information out of a boy, I’m taking him directly to the dentist.  Because getting information from a boy is like getting a tooth pulled.  Either the dentist…  

~ OR ~ 

I’M GOING STRAIGHT TO THE SECRETARY AT THE INSURANCE OFFICE!!! 

Last week, I went into the insurance office and while doing business, Kim asked me, “How are the wedding plans coming?” 

I had to let that one sink in.  

Then I said, “Kim, I’ve been married for almost 35 years, and I don’t have any marriage plans.”  Pause.  “Are you talking about Rich?  What do you know that I don’t?”  She had that look of <what? you don’t know? what?> 

*SIGH*  *BIG SIGH* 

Rich and Heather

 

Can you believe it?  I had to hear from Kim at the insurance office about MY SON who’s recently engaged!   Yeah, that didn’t settle too well…  And I thought he loved me… 

So, I made a deal with Kim.  We agreed that if she hears anything in the coming months, she’ll call me.  At least then, I’ll know something.  

The Ring

 

There’s the ring!  It’s about time!  Happy Mother’s Day to me. 

You know, teeth are pretty hard to pull, but I bet my right punch could knock one out.  Rich, it would be painless if you just call my number, open your mouth, and speak. 

Look at him grinning.

10 Comments

  1. Miss A / May 14 2010 6:33 PM

    Smack ’em!

    Congrats!

    ~Miss A ; )

  2. Diana Ferguson / May 14 2010 6:06 AM

    Oh yes! Sounds sort of familiar…..

  3. tanna / May 14 2010 5:52 AM

    Oh, yeah. I feel your pain. My son is exactly the same… tooth pulling looks easy. LOL! Congratulations on getting a new daughter!!

  4. Debby Pucci / May 14 2010 2:01 AM

    Sorry about that. Did he think you would be angry. Not telling makes the anger worse. I know that my sisters daughter went and got married at the court house and it hurt my sister to much.

  5. Nola at Alamo North / May 13 2010 9:24 PM

    Oh, what a funny post! I know you were probably in shock, but it does make for good story telling! Congrats to the happy couple!

  6. diana / May 13 2010 7:23 PM

    like.pulling.teeth. I just used those exact words with my sweet son yesterday… ya gotta laugh… well actually you made me laugh.

  7. Vickie / May 13 2010 10:58 AM

    Just like my Josh – tight-lipped alright. You should bend that boy over your knee for not telling you!!! No wonder I was surprised, too, when you mentioned that the other day. First I’d heard! Smack ’em both for me, too!

    Congratulations are in order, tho, so Congratulations to the happy couple and their families! When is the date? Boy-howdy, you REALLY gonna be busy now – you just thought you were busy before!

    Beautiful ring and handsome son. I love his freckles & red hair – he’s a good lookin’ guy and he looks very happy!!!

  8. Patty / May 13 2010 10:58 AM

    my parent’s weren’t the first to know about my engagement some 25 yrs. ago (July 20th) . I had a doctors appointment and my boyfriend went with me. Needless to say after the drs. appointment we went ring shoppiing (it was a surprise to me too!! That’s how he proposed to me!!). I went back to work and showed all the women I worked with first forgetting that my father worked with one of the women’s husbands. I got home that evening and I realized it about 7p..m. and I said “we need to make a trip to Waynetown,(IN) before we do anything else.” And then I explained myself. Wow!!! could have been killed for that.

  9. Debbie / May 13 2010 10:15 AM

    Most girls wouldn’t have been able to keep it a secret! Is she just reserved? It’s a nice ring too, and she sure can be proud of it. I say smack both of em!
    Debbie:)

  10. jeanette / May 13 2010 9:33 AM

    Don’t feel bad, Debbie. I sometimes have to pry info out of my son with a crowbar. And even then I have to talk to his wife to fill in the blanks. Congrats though on the news!

Comments are closed.