Skip to content
May 12, 2010 / dcwisdom

The Way to the Throne Room

Dear Friends,

I’m just back tonight from Dallas.  Kid #4 Sam and I left yesterday at noon and high-tailed it to Dallas to see his girlfriend, Emily, who was in the hospital with kidney stones.  Yeeeoooow!

Sam and Emily

For some crazy reason, my focus was being contrary; really, it wasn’t me this time! :/  So this is the best photo I got of Sam and Emily.  Aren’t they cute!

Sam was home for Mother’s Day weekend, and Jeremiah and Chris were planning to take him back to Dallas last night, but Emily was suddenly overcome with out-of-control pain, so Sam and I rushed back to Dallas to be with her.  Which was a good thing.  As you can see, she’s in recovery now that Sam is back.

Dallas skyline

It was a little hazy today with temps hovering near 90 degrees and a bit of humidity.  Fairly typical May weather in Dallas.

Sam leaves tomorrow for a month-long mission trip with eleven other people to four countries in Asia.  Needless to say, I’m a nervous mom.  One thing about kids his age – they don’t worry about stuff.  Everything’s a big adventure.  Remembering to take their malaria pill every day is their biggest concern.  “Gosh, Mom, we’ll be fine.” 

I’m counting 10 airplane trips that are scheduled on this trip.  I’m thinking about them crossing a particular border with hidden Bibles in their possessions.  I’m thinking about recent earthquakes and political unrest.  You know, things mamas think about…

What I’m needing is some women that have a direct line and know THE WAY to the Throne Room.  Some intercessors to gather daily with me in the Spirit.  The countries these young adults are going into are not Christian dominant.  These Gospel-carrying people need some strong prayer support.

So, will you please pray with me for 35 days for safety and protection for Sam’s team?

I will give you updates as I get them.  Sam is encouraged to send email updates as often as possible.   I surely do thank you!

10 Comments

  1. Glenda / May 18 2010 1:44 AM

    Your son sounds like a wonderful young man, Debbie! I’ll be praying for his safety while he’s away.

  2. jeanette / May 13 2010 6:55 AM

    I consider it an honor to join the prayer chain, Debbie. My son is a member of law enforcement so I truly understand about the Mama factor.

  3. Debby Pucci / May 13 2010 6:37 AM

    I will be keeping him in my prayers.

  4. Cheryl L / May 13 2010 5:54 AM

    I’ll be praying for their safety and for the precious souls they will win for Jesus!

  5. Laura / May 13 2010 4:17 AM

    Praying!

  6. Patty / May 12 2010 11:05 PM

    will be praying for your son Sam. Sam is a brave soul.

  7. Debbie / May 12 2010 2:27 PM

    Giblet, I was just thinking of your son after reading your post this morning and wondering how God would have me pray; and I thought of these verses:

    Romans 10:13] For whosoever shall call upon the name of the Lord shall be saved.
    [14] How then shall they call on him in whom they have not believed? and how shall they believe in him of whom they have not heard? and how shall they hear without a preacher?
    [15] And how shall they preach, except they be sent? as it is written, How beautiful are the feet of them that preach the gospel of peace, and bring glad tidings of good things

    I am so thankful for this group of people who are traveling to actually place the Word of God in the hands of those who may never have heard. My heart is elated! God bless them! I totally understand your concern for your son, and I will pray for the security and success of this mission. How exciting! Who knows what God will do with his heart while he’s gone. What an education! In spite of all the dangers, I know you’d rather have him in God’s hands there than anywhere else! Love ya, Debbie

  8. amber / May 12 2010 1:58 PM

    I will be praying with you for all of their safety.

    Hugs,
    Amber

  9. Vickie / May 12 2010 12:51 PM

    Count me in, girlfriend. I’m there with ya. I felt the same way when Josh was in Europe last summer for 5 weeks. I worried about everything – terrorist attacks, whether he would eat right and not get low blood sugar episodes, their free travel where they were hopping all over Europe on planes and trains, thieves, kidnappers, you name it. And Josh was only in Europe – at least he didn’t have to take malaria pills & he wasn’t carrying Bibles. Keep us updated on Sam’s whereabouts and what he’s doing. We expect pictures and a full report. He’s doing the Lord’s work and God is with them.

    I’m sorry to hear about Emily’s kidney stones. EEWWWW – painful – Adam has one about every two or three years or so. His urologist told him the best thing you can do for kidney stones is to lay in a hot bath with a bottle of Jack Daniels and wait for it to pass. He didn’t try that.

    Big hug!

  10. Diana Ferguson / May 12 2010 12:21 PM

    Sure thing, girl!

Comments are closed.