Skip to content
May 9, 2010 / dcwisdom

Boots In the Berry Patch and Blackberry Cobbler

Blackberry Cobbler with Blue Bell Homemade Vanilla Ice Cream

The consensus was blackberry cobbler with Blue Bell Homemade Vanilla ice cream.  So, here you are!

The girls and I were in the blackberry patch today.  We found two hillsides with thickets of wild blackberries, poison ivy, and murder vine.  Luckily, we didn’t see any snakes.  But tonight, Brin has an onset of poison ivy on her right hand and arm.  Poor dear.

Boots

 

Now, I, as an older person, know how to dress when going to the berry patch.  And I don’t care what other people say.  I dress for safety – sun hat, apron (so I don’t get my white shirt dirty), knee socks over my jeans (to keep out the chiggers), thick boots to step on murder vines, and gloves to keep poison ivy from reaching my delicate fingers.

sittin' in the tractor shed

 

I also take a long pole to beat the bushes to scare snakes away.  Really, I do.  Eventually, I put the pole down and plunge  into the thicket and talk really loud.  That should scare ’em off!

Millie and Bella lookin' on.

 

Of course, Millie and Bella are in the middle of everything.  We can’t go anywhere without them.

Bella

 

Bella just couldn’t hang in there.  She missed her afternoon nap.  Mary graciously gave her a lift.

The recipe for cobbler is from my grandmother’s recipe box.   It’s a cherry cobbler recipe, so I made the adjustment for blackberries.  Easy.  (That’s how I cook; make it easy.)

BLACKBERRY COBBLER

In a large saucepan, combine 4 cups fresh, rinsed blackberries with 1 cup granulated sugar, 1 cup brown sugar, 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon, and 3 tablespoons corn starch.  Cook mixture on medium heat until sugars/cornstarch dissolve.  Reduce heat to low and cook for another 10 minutes or until mixture is thicker.  Stir often to prevent scorching.

While berry mixture is cooking (if you’re a multi-tasker), combine 3 cups flour, 1 cup melted butter,  3/4 cup granulated sugar, 2 teaspoons baking powder, 1/2 teaspoon salt.  Mix dry ingredients together and add melted butter.  Combine all ingredients.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Spray large casserole dish with vegetable spray, and pour blackberry mixture into dish.  Crumble flour mixture onto top of blackberries.  Bake in oven for 25-30 minutes or until bubbly on the sides and golden brown on the top.

Serve warm with vanilla ice cream.  Serves 8-10.

The blackberry vines will continue to produce for several days.  I plan to gather a few more to freeze. 

And to my Jefferson friends, I’m bringing the cobbler!  🙂  Tara, grab the Blue Bell!

9 Comments

  1. Vickie / May 12 2010 6:03 AM

    Hey, I saw your post on another blog that you had future in-laws at your house over the weekend? Did I miss something???

  2. Glenda / May 11 2010 4:47 AM

    That cobbler looks delicious! I still have some blackberries in the freezer from last year so I’m going to give it a try. I’m not sure there are any ripe around here yet, but I sure love to pick them. I don’t have a pickin’ outfit nearly as cute as yours, though! 🙂

  3. Renee / May 11 2010 1:46 AM

    Hi Debbie! Found you!
    We’re going to have to find a way to talk recipes one of these days! The Kitchen table is by turns inspiring and frustrating. I think if I look at it as “pieces” instead of “wholes” I might not be so intimidated. I’m just not one to cook duck, rabbit, or quail. Bring on the shrimp!
    Hugs,
    Renee

  4. Vickie / May 10 2010 11:05 PM

    I wanna see that whole ensemble myself. Where are the headshots???

    LOOOOVVVVEEEE Blackberry Cobbler! I’ll bring my big serving spoon – not to serve but to shove it in my mouth! I’m hope you’re bring plenty! Leave the chiggers at home please.

    You forgot to mention the waxed paper.

    I AM PUMPED!

  5. Rayanne / May 10 2010 9:20 PM

    yummy, yummy, yummy….
    You sound like me when I go berry pickin! Lots of fun I know, but we sure don’t need the snakes! I always would take my dog too, they just get down and sniff all the bad stuff away, makes us feel safer. I’ll try your recipe and of course get some good old Blue bell.
    Enjoyed your post. Now I’m hungry!

  6. tanna / May 10 2010 12:04 PM

    First, the cobbler looks FANTASTIC!!

    Second, I love the blackberry gathering couture.

    Third, where have I missed out on the “gathering” of Texas bloggers? LOL. You leave a few days and poof! You have missed out!

  7. Debby Pucci / May 9 2010 5:20 PM

    Wow, you found so many. Blackberries are my favorite.
    Cobbler with ice cream, YUM! Happy Mother’s Day.

  8. jeanette / May 9 2010 3:03 PM

    I am requesting that all you Texas ladies please change your meeting place to NC! We could gather at the beach, less than two hours from us or even at my house. That way I won’t miss out on the fun and cobbler. :0)

  9. Debbie / May 9 2010 1:31 PM

    Hey Giblet, I’d come for the cobbler alone; but to see you serve it dressed up in you anti-chigger Texas haute couture outfit!Whooweee! And your sisters think you have nothing to wear! They’re just jealous!
    I love blackberry cobbler and putting on Blue Bell (the best ice cream in the country, yea the world!) is guilding the lilly. But gilding is ok 🙂 Exactly 4 weeks from tomorrow, we will begin our trip to Texas to partake of 2 whole days of Texas women blogger fun. We are pumped! Got the reservations and all. Getting oil changed and tires rotated. Hairspray. Snorkels.
    Happy Mother’s Day!
    Debbie

Comments are closed.