Skip to content
May 6, 2010 / dcwisdom

If a Babylonian King…

My mind keeps going back to the Babylonian ruler, King Nebuchadnezzar.  Old King Neb had been warned by God’s prophet Daniel:  Turn your heart…tear down the statues…humble yourself…  But the king did not listen.

(He) boasted, ‘Look at this, Babylon the great!  And I built it all by myself, a royal palace adequate to display my honor and glory!’  The words were no sooner out of his mouth than a voice out of heaven spoke, ‘This is the verdict on you, King Nebuchadnezzar:  Your kingdom is taken from you.   You will be driven out of human company and live with wild animals.  You will eat grass like an ox.  The sentence is for seven seasons, enough time to learn that the High God rules human kingdoms and puts whomever he wishes in charge.’

It happened at once.

Intercessors

At the end of seven years, I, Nebuchadnezzar, looked to heaven.  I was given my mind back and I blessed the High God, thanking and glorifying God, who lives forever.  (Daniel 4)

On our knees

If God can change the wicked heart of a prideful king, he can change the hearts of our leaders.

The king’s heart is in the hand of the LORD, as the rivers of water: He turneth it whithersoever He will.   (Proverbs 22:1)

If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sins, and will heal their land.  (II Chronicles 7:14)

Amen.  God bless Israel.  God help America.  Pray for Mr. Obama.

3 Comments

  1. mary / May 7 2010 9:54 AM

    I love the way you are bringing the Scriptures to life with present day. I’ll bet you would be an amazing Bible study leader.

  2. Cheryl L / May 7 2010 2:17 AM

    It comes straight from the Word, that those (nations) who bless Israel will be blessed and those who curse Israel will be cursed. Yes, we need to pray for Mr. Obama (he simply isn’t befitting the title of the office which he holds) because clearly he does not understand scripture or simply does not believe the wisdom and power it holds. Foolish decisions on his part will have ramifications for all Americans.

    Daily I pray for Israel; for America and for the leaders of our country to come to know Christ as their savior—before it’s too late.

    Thank you for continuing to address the state of our nation in your blog! Blessings…..

  3. Vickie / May 6 2010 7:27 PM

    Sweet Pic of your “little” girl and her friend. I love all that old Bible history. We’ve studied it at great length in our ladies’ Bible study classes. I’ve gained so much more faith studying the days of old testament. I know God’s people are praying and we must continue and He will do whatever His will is and whatever’s best for us in His own good time. It sure is hard for ussn’s to wait, tho…

    I’d sure hate to eat grass for 7 years…

Comments are closed.