Skip to content
May 4, 2010 / dcwisdom

I’m Kinda Tired Of All This “Hope and Change” Stuff

While driving almost 300 miles last week, we found several roadside signs of free speech/political expression.  

Store front

One nation under God, indivisible…

I am a mid-aged, white woman who has enough knowledge of The Almighty to not be stupid enough to tell Him to get out of my life, my family, my state, my country, or my world.   I’ve read my Bible.  During the days of Noah, only eight people were saved from the global flood.  Why?  Because the days were evil, the Holy Scripture says; God was not honored and centralized within the earths’ cultures. 

Do you know about Nebuchadnezzar, the king of Babylon?  Back in 586 BC, he waged a military campaign to destroy Jerusalem and took the Jews captive and forced God’s people to worship a golden statue.  His story from there is interesting.  God caused him, for seven years, to look and act beast-like and live in a field (Read about Neb in Daniel 2-4.)  until old Neb finally looked up and acknowledged The Most High God.

What about the ancient civilizations (Pompeii, Mayans, Native American tribes, and others) that have disappeared from the face of the earth?   Why?  Was it because they worshiped false gods? 

I have no desire for my beloved US of A to follow suit. 

There are still a majority of Americans, around 60 percent, who still call themselves “Christians.”  To many, that means treating people right and helping others, paying fair taxes, serving your country, minding your own business, and wanting our branches of government to stay true to the United States Constitution. 

To others like myself, being a “Christian” encompasses the aforementioned but includes knowing God personally.  I don’t know everything about God, just like I don’t know everything about my husband or my kids.  But, I do know enough –  that without God, we would live in utter chaos. 

Do you remember the movie Lion King?  That movie is a classic example of good and evil; when evil rules, there’s destruction, a war for power over individuals, murder, darkness and desolation.  Like any other movie of good and evil genre, when ‘good’ rules, people feel safe and secure; life is good.  People prosper.  Charity increases.  Knowledge widens and deepens. 

When the “good” standard is upheld, we are better.  The Bible says that God is perfect.  So why would I want to tell “Perfect” to leave?   Is God not the reason we strive in our hearts to be good, to be better, to be the best? 

The only way to encourage the good-better-best qualities in people is to allow freedom to reign.  And control of the masses is not freedom. 

He's not the Messiah

 To tell the American masses (or any group of people) how they can and cannot behave, what they can and cannot buy, what they can and cannot speak and believe, is just plain wrong.  Common laws are necessary, but where do you draw the line between necessary and ridiculous?  

Americans always been free-thinkers and free-speakers.  I still know plenty of people who have critical thinking skills and functioning, active brains and who can analyze and study and make proper decisions for themselves.   Plenty of people use, everyday, decency, fairness, and truth as their standards.  These people don’t want to be told how to live their lives. 

The majority of people who demand support for themselves without having to work are lazy robots.  Just throw them some money.  Their lives don’t improve.  Their seed doesn’t thrive.  If fact, the opposite happens.  They remain gimme-gimme-gimmes – untrained babies, crying and whining and exhibiting temper tantrums and ruining everyone else’s lives.  They haven’t grown up to be responsible and respectable people; they teach their seed to be neither responsible nor respectable.  And people who cater to and keep feeding grown babies for a vote are despicable.  

Some fitting words attributed to Kenneth W. Sollitt:  There are certain truths that are true no matter how much we may deny them.  In the economic realm, for instance, you cannot legislate the poor into independence by legislating the wealthy out of it.  You cannot multiply wealth by dividing it.  Government cannot give to people what it does not first take away from people.  And that which one man receives without working for, another man must work for without receiving. 

Impeach Obama sign

I don’t know if a Obama impeachment is the end-all answer to our nation’s problems.  In my opinion, I think Mr. Obama is a puppet, a man who is teleprompted on every issue, a man who’s lived a different perspective and sees Americans as haves and have-nots, spoiled on both sides, a person who’s torn between being a dedicated American or being a dedicated  Muslim.  A man being jerked from one side to the other.  A fence rider.  But a man who wants and needs total power.  And it all depends on who scares him the most. 

And Mr. President has told “Perfect,” The Holy, Perfect, One True God, to get lost.  He’s clinging to a religious tyranny.  So, I’m not holding out for much good “hope and change” from this president.  After more than a year of Obamanation, the content behind his mantra does not answer my craving and longing for “one nation under God.” 

My “Perfect” God said this:  I’ll show up and take care of you as I promised and bring you back home.  I know what I’m doing.  I have it all planned out – plans to take care of you, not abandon you, plans to give you the future you hope for.  (Jeremiah 29:10-11 The Message-Remix) 

This is a promise I can bank on, because I know the One who made the promise – the One Who calls Himself  Good, Faithful and True. 

Because, “Perfect” is Able; He is Sovereign; He is Omniscient and Omnipotent and Omnipresent.  Praise to the God of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob.  God bless Israel.  God help America.  Pray for Mr. Obama.

11 Comments

  1. Patty / May 5 2010 1:18 PM

    Very well put. Didn’t vote for Obama and didn’t vote for the Republican either. I will say I have to agree with you though. This nation can’t stand too much more Obama. Praying that God with lead this nation back to being a BETTER Christian Nation. Just cause you believe in God doesn’t mean your a Christian….you have to have a relationship with him first and understand that His grace is free. Amen Sister for your statements.

  2. tanna / May 5 2010 11:33 AM

    How do you really feel about it, Debbie? LOL! You go girl!

  3. mary / May 5 2010 10:06 AM

    You rock! Stay on that soapbox and keep preaching it. Love your comments and pictures; I agree with you 100%

  4. Cheryl L / May 4 2010 11:37 PM

    Atta Girl!!!!! Excellent article. A friend and I were just having a discussion on this very subject today—so very timely! Aren’t we glad we KNOW God is sovereign and he is still in control! HE is the only real Hope for Change!!

  5. Linda Sue / May 4 2010 11:30 PM

    What a shame we’ve gone from the Founding Fathers’ design of citizen statesmen to professional conmen – oops I mean professional politicians. Just read Karl Rove’s book – interesting and I know each person tells a story the way they want the world to see it – but enough corroboration to know – where there is money there is corruption! Let’s stay fired up – and pray as if our lives depend on it ’cause they do
    There are honorable people on both sides of any issue – so I’m praying the Lord will awaken the honor and get folks to think straight again.

  6. ladylibertykl / May 4 2010 10:46 PM

    I could not agree more. Just yesterday I penned a similar posting, you can read it at fusionism.wordpress.com

    Keep up the good work!

  7. Rayanne / May 4 2010 10:41 PM

    All I can say is…….THANK YOU, for this post. I want Christians to get this. I want everybody to get this, anybody that will listen. Okay….again,
    THANK YOU.
    You are a lovely person, friend.

  8. Debbie / May 4 2010 10:34 PM

    I can’t wait to meet you in person! You are so articulate and…maybe a little steamed….we all are. I enjoyed your comments and agree with them totally. Only 3 more years. We will fight him all the way… with prayer and faith!
    Debbie

  9. Deb / May 4 2010 7:27 PM

    I’m right there with you girl….

  10. Vickie / May 4 2010 7:23 PM

    Excellent article, Deb. I’m in total agreement. You write very well and get your ideas across very well. I’m on your side, which is the Right side, and the Lord’s side.

  11. jeanette / May 4 2010 7:19 PM

    Amen, sister!

Comments are closed.