Skip to content
April 27, 2010 / dcwisdom

Trusting God in Tough Times

Troubling times, tough issues… all around us, in every family, on our minds, from the small stuff to looming mountains…

Today, I’m particularly praying for my blog friend Gay, my beautiful mama, my friends Cindy and Billie and Nancy and Mike and others who are heavy with burdens and facing tough times.

But, God, Jehovah Shammah, Our Abiding Presence.  Our Rock.  Our Stabilizer.  Our Comforter.  Our Burden-Lifter.  Our Light.  Our Joy.

My devotional reading today was in Job 6:  “Oh that my request might come to pass, and that God would grant my longing!”

The devotion from Inspirational Ministries reads:  “After beginning to lose his hearing, Ludwig van Beethoven reacted with strong emotion.  Writing in 1802, he recalled how he once possessed a perfect sense of hearing but now had been forced “to cut myself off and live in solitude.”

Beethoven frequently complained, even expressing his frustration to God.  Like Job, he held God responsible for his despair and the trials he was experiencing.  He cried out to the Lord, knowing that He looked “down on my inmost soul.”

Beethoven’s questions and conversations with God remind us of Job, a man who struggled with endless questions, even though he continued to believe in God.  In the end, Job realized just how wrong he had been and how little he really understood about God’s ways.  He saw how much he needed to trust Him:  “I have heard of You by the hearing of the ear; but now my eye sees You; therefore I retract, and I repent in dust and ashes” (Job 42:5-6).

Beethoven did not have this level of spirituality.  But he eventually was able to accomplish great things.  Instead of giving in to hopelessness and defeat, he became a composer who broke new ground and impacted the course of history.  He had proven the Bible to be true, that “Blessed is a man who perseveres under trial; for once he has been approved, he will receive the crown of life”  (James 1:12).

If Beethoven and Job could speak to us, they might remind us that we, too, can trust in God…that He is looking for people who will persevere in the face of trials. 

Today, commit every situation you face to God.  Be honest with Him, and let Him know your concerns and worries, your fears and frustrations.  And when you face trials, remember the reward you’ll receive when you persevere.  You can always trust Him.”

May each of you be blessed today.  Shalom.

One Comment

  1. Gay Vaughan / Apr 27 2010 6:00 PM

    Thank you Debbie, today is especially tough. Pray for peace and great results from the tests that I will be undergoing today.

Comments are closed.