Skip to content
April 27, 2010 / dcwisdom

Garden Paradise

My mom and I were in Nacogdoches this afternoon.  Nacogdoches is the oldest town in Texas with a conglomerate of ethnicities, and the town hosts Stephen F. Austin State University, home of the Lumberjacks.  The old town nestles deeply in the tall, dark, and beautiful East Texas Pineywoods.

After lunch, Mom and I toured Ruby Mize’s eight-acre garden which is located on SFA campus and maintained by the school.  The garden comprises many varieties of magnolias, azaleas, and Japanese maple trees.

I mentioned to Mom that if this garden could be so beautiful, I wonder what the Garden of Eden was like.  I was mesmerized and in awe of the tranquility and beauty of the garden, and I’m hoping that next year we’ll be able to make the full showing of the spring blooms since we missed peak season for the azaleas. 

Enjoy the slide show, and check out the link to Nacogdoches.  If you are a Texan, you need to know these things.  And, if you’re not a Texan, you should be.  🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 Comments

  1. Stacey at Living by Faith / Apr 29 2010 1:53 AM

    I love Nacogdoches and spent some incredible years there at SFA. That’s actually where I met my honey! It truly is a beautiful town.

  2. nola at alamo north / Apr 27 2010 1:34 PM

    Shame on me, I’m a native Texan and I’ve never been to those gardens; gimme a few points, at least I HAVE been to Nacogdoches! The azaleas are so pretty, but your Mom and the maples are pretty, too!

Comments are closed.