Skip to content
April 26, 2010 / dcwisdom

Going at Warp Speed

Dear Friends, I can’t remember a time when I didn’t travel at warp speed.  Seems like my life has been but a blink.

Thistle in clover

I have a feeling that you all can relate.    The scripture says that ‘life is even a vapor (a mist), that appears for a little time, then vanishes away.’   If you ask an octogenarian (if you know one), he or she will most likely say that life was so short, that it passed so quickly.

Ivy trees

An intriguing chapter of the Bible talks about lifespans.   In Genesis 5 after the story of Cain and Abel, Adam was 130 years old when Seth was born; Adam lived another 800 years and ‘begat’ sons and daughters.  Seth lived 912 years;  Enos lived 905 years, and so on.

So, I’m thinking my 53 years here is but a blink.  I’m thinking that the size of my family is quite small compared to Adam and Eve’s family, wondering how many children Eve birthed.

Red Fence

I mean, can you imagine Eve talking to her daughters and granddaughters at, say, age 530:  “Yep, this is Kid #32; I, for the life of me, can’t remember what we’re calling him.  Now my great-great-great-great-great grandson Methuselah is teething, and his mother says he’s a real biter.”  

And I thought that eight years of pregnancy and lactating was a long haul!

Red Clover

And, too, the burgeoning first family no longer went naked.  Adam and Eve ruined that for everybody.   Of course, without tv and the internet, they all had time to make their clothes, prepare healthy, organic meals, learn how to throw a pot in record time, have regular marathons, build cities, devise and master musical instruments, learn a trade…

Cows

…care for the cows, sheep, goats, and other critters, plant and harvest gardens…

A hole in the pond

…do a little fishing…

Here’s an unusual thought:  If God hadn’t put a time limit on age after Noah’s Flood, we would still see 700 year old people on the planet.  Senior citizen-ship would begin at 550 years old.  One hundred years would be considered ‘young.’

Consider:   If you had extra time granted to you in life, what would be on your dream (bucket) list?

1.)  What would it take for you now to carry out your dream list?

2.)  What fears are holding you back from accomplishing your dream list?

3.)  How can you make extra time for yourself?

4.)  Just have fun and go for it!

4 Comments

  1. tanna / Apr 30 2010 11:14 PM

    Hey, there. Just catching up and wow, this is a really good one. Lots to think about here. Take good care.

  2. nola at alamo north / Apr 26 2010 10:02 PM

    Must be something we think about at this point in our lives. I’m about to turn 54 and my thoughts are similar; I guess we’ve lost everyone in the generations before us and the generations after us are on their own now, so we have time to sit and think about our own mortality.
    I would not want to live 500 years, I’m satisfied with the number of days God has alloted me.

  3. Sue / Apr 26 2010 6:39 PM

    Funny, these are the same questions I have been asking myself lately- must come with being 53. Also brought into focus after losing my dad and having mom move in with us. God is so good through it all!

    (Can you imagine the health care discussion and the taxes our government would be imposing if we lived to be 700?:))

  4. Debby Pucci / Apr 26 2010 4:25 PM

    I really liked this post. The pictures are beautiful. I have to give your questions some thought.

Comments are closed.