Skip to content
April 20, 2010 / dcwisdom

There Shall Be Dancing

I have never been one to claim a tv show.  For years, I couldn’t even tell you what tv programs came on which night.  Except for Monday Night Football.  Rick has his favorite, “24,” and now it’s going off.  Brin watched “Monk.”  Friends watch “American Idol.” 

But, now, I’ve gotten caught up in “Dancing With the Stars.”

First, I have to say about last night’s show that Evan and Anna exhibited so much beauty in their dancing.  I could have watched them all night.  And, that Niecy!  Oh, my goodness!  What a character!  I love her!

A special message from me to Kate Gosselin:  Honey, pull your thumb out of your mouth, put on your big girl panties, and stop whining.   Don’t you know by now, mom’s aren’t allowed pity parties.  Gather yourself up and dance, girl!

Growing up Southern Baptist, I recall around sixth grade that our Sunday School teacher read to our class a booklet called “The Baptist Faith and Message” which included the part that our church faith would neither sponsor nor promote dancing, unlike those Catholic heathens.  Never mind that the fun half of the Baptist population loved to dance.  (Now, I’m not dissing anyone or the tenets of faith here; I just think that God gave some people the ‘jiggles,’ like David.  And me.) 

Ever so often, the Bible story about David’s dancing came around in our lessons.  In II Samuel chapter 6, some translations say he was even…   shhhh… naked…when he danced.  Yes, he celebrated extravagantly.  (But that kind of dancing doesn’t apply to us.   Oh, no, nude dancing can only be done while in the shower – by yourself.)

I love Psalm 149:  “Let them praise his name in dance; strike up the band and make great music!….Let true lovers break out in praise, sing out from wherever they’re sitting; shout the high praises of God, brandish their swords in the wild-sword-dance.”  (verses 3,5,6 The Message-Remix) 

Whoa – the wild-sword-dance.  Hmmm…  Dancing, faith, fun, scripture suddenly fit together.

In the fall of ’08, Kid #5 Mary and I, together with several friends, took a community education class in ballroom dancing.  I hadn’t had so much fun in years.  We learned several styles – fox trot, waltz, cha-cha, rumba, box-step, salsa…  Not that I can remember the steps now, but what fun!

I love watching small children at dances.  They dance with abandon whirling, twisting, gyrating, running, laughing.  That’s it – abandonment.  Abandonment of frumpiness, old-school, chains and fetters, attitudes.

I bet that’s how it will be in heaven – abandonment to God.  Free spirit.  All-encompassing love.  And, I want to practice that here, in my prelude to heaven.  

There shall be dancing!  Amen.

10 Comments

  1. Marylou55 / Apr 21 2010 6:15 PM

    Loved this post! I like what one blogger said about Kate Gosselin; the only thing the blogger wanted to see her do was a disappearing act. And I have to agree with that!

    We attend a Pentecostal church; and I truly believe that when we are in Heaven, we will be worshipping through dance and praise songs. For the life of me, I can’t imagine worshipping around the Throne with a hymn book. We all need to be practicing now 😀

  2. Linda Sue / Apr 21 2010 12:50 PM

    I shared a similar upbringing – but something (the Holy Dancing Spirit?) grabbed my parents around my entering the 9th grade and they talked to the deacons and preacher and said “she will be going to dances AND wearing tasteful makeup” – trust me – they exaggerated on the tasteful bit. Dancing releases us – and my fervent wish is in Heaven – I’ll be good at it. We are DWTS fans – Evan and Anna are great – dear distraught Kate went home.

  3. Debby Pucci / Apr 21 2010 3:34 AM

    Thank you for stopping over today. I appreciate that.
    I don’t watch Dancing with the stars but I should check in on Evan, boy did I like him in the Olympics! I am watching Idol this year but normally I don’t watch reality shows except for Big Brother every summer. I watched some of Kate’s shows when they were on, she needs to grow up!

  4. Gay Vaughan / Apr 21 2010 3:08 AM

    Hi Debbie,

    Got your comment. I hope we can meet sometime soon too. We won’t be at the recital this weekend. By chance if you do the one for TDA in May, my daughter will be in that one.

    Asking for many prayers as I face some very big challenges in the days ahead. Pray for peace and acceptance of God’s will. I don’t understand what I am facing but am trying to trust that there will be good from this. Trying to be faithful and praise Him in this storm. My family is going to need lots of prayers too.

    Love this post! Dancing in heaven…that is a great picture.

    Gay

  5. tanna / Apr 21 2010 2:17 AM

    Oh, yes! There will be dancing and SINGING! I am so hoping that when I get there I can do both! It is my dearest dream to be able to belt out a praise song with a strong, clear, melodious voice! But, it ain’t happenin’ in this life! LOL. until then…

  6. Rayanne / Apr 20 2010 11:09 PM

    I am so with you on this one….. I’m one of those that do the‘jiggles. I too like watching dancing with the stars, I just wish those girls would wear some clothes!!!
    Every time I come here… It always makes me feel good, thank you sweety!

  7. Debbie / Apr 20 2010 8:57 PM

    My kids took dance. I hated the recitals: some danced (kinda) some waved at their mommies; some looked out and saw the people and began to cry. But at least one always wet their pants.
    My kids preferred baseball.
    Debbie

  8. Nezzy / Apr 20 2010 7:59 PM

    Dance on baby! I can’t even imagine the Heaven party we’re gonna have. Yep, I’m singin’ and dancin’ all the time here ’round the Ponderosa….why not in Heaven?

    God bless ya and have a terrific Tuesday!!!

  9. Vickie / Apr 20 2010 6:44 PM

    I was one of those staunch Baptist gals. My mama and daddy kept their thumb on us kids so tight we squeaked. I did get to go to my high school dances, cuz I was in the drill team and it was required. The folks let up a little. I think they were glad it was out of their hands.

    I been known to do a little boot scootin’ in my early days, but lately it’s just butt scootin’. That’s about the best I can do. I cain’t fit into those size 5 crack-cuttin’ girl jeans anymore. And somehow it don’t look fittin’ when you’re my age and my size to be out there gyratin’ on the dance floor. I used to make fun of women my age when I was in my 20’s tryin’ to dance. Looks like two pigs in a poke! HA!

    Sorry, but I’m sick of Kate Josslin. She just seems bitter and tacky most of the time now. I’d like to jerk those extensions right offa her head and tell her to go home and be a good mama to those cute little kids of hers and get out of the public eye. First things, first!

  10. Deb / Apr 20 2010 6:33 PM

    I agree..there must be dancing…my daughter is a dancer and has been since she was 2…it is her world…I love the performances…would not be the same without them…

Comments are closed.