Skip to content
April 19, 2010 / dcwisdom

Noon Deer

Today at lunch, Chris quietly remarked, “There’s a deer out the window.”

Noon Deer

Sure enough, a young white-tail doe was poised, ready for the camera. 

There’s something so proud and majestic about deer, like, oh, look, it’s the Queen of England come to the country for a visit, deary. 

Same Deer

There’s a psalm so engrained in my brain that every time I see a deer, I think of how I should ‘pant’ after God.  Psalm 42:

KJV vs 1-2:  As a hart panteth after the water brooks, so panteth my soul after thee, O God.  My soul thirsteth for God, for the living God… (The Message-Remix:  A white-tailed deer drinks from the creek; I want to drink God, deep draughts of God.  I’m thirsty for God-alive.)

KJV vs 5:  Why art thou cast down, O my soul?  And why art thou disquieted in me?  Hope thou in God:  for I shall yet praise him for the help of his countenance.  (The Message-Remix:  Why are you down in the dumps, dear soul?  Why are you crying the blues?  Fix my eyes on God – soon I’ll be praising again.  He puts a smile on my face.  He’s my God.)

Mealtimes around here can be so very entertaining.

Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  (Ps. 122:6)

6 Comments

  1. nola at the alamo / Apr 19 2010 7:53 PM

    Awesome! What a beautiful creature. How lucky you are to live where this your lunchtime view.

  2. Vickie / Apr 19 2010 3:42 PM

    Nice shot, Deb – Love that song, “As The Deer”. One of my favorites when I hear my good friend Trish sing in her beautiful soprano voice near me. I just have to close my eyes and listen.

    Looks like ya’ll had a good Tea Party in Texarkana. We had one here, too, THAT I DIDN’T KNOW ABOUT until it was over! I would love to have gone! RATS! Let’s hope and pray we make our voices heard!!!

  3. Linda Sue / Apr 19 2010 2:04 PM

    wonderful message and yes – my brain knows deer are prey animals but each appearance of them around here is a moment to say “come here -the deer are back”.

  4. tanna / Apr 19 2010 12:37 PM

    beautiful deer… beautiful message… thank you, debbie… =)

  5. Deb / Apr 19 2010 12:19 PM

    beautiful photo…

  6. Debbie / Apr 19 2010 12:17 PM

    She is beautiful! Debbie

Comments are closed.