Skip to content
April 16, 2010 / dcwisdom

Marathons and Bulldozers

As anyone in the midst of home renovation can attest, it is a mental battle to have your vision oh so close and not be able to reach out and touch it, a betwixt emotion of agitation and affection, exasperation and resignation.

When Rick and I bought our home, we had plans to move in after making some minor changes.  In tearing out kitchen cabinets and bathtubs, we opened Pandora’s box where we found not only faulty wiring but also leaky plumbing.  One day, after scraping a horrible finish off the drywall, I called the kids in, and we threw every piece of sheet rock out of that two-story house’s windows.

Thus began our total home renovation and resignation to trailer house living for yet another year.  (We are taking it year by year.)   There are plenty of people who ask “why?”   Answer:  No additional debt.

Maple Table

Living in a trailer house is not easy; in fact, I have stomped and digged in my heels against putting any hard-earned funds into this place.  I had a major leak last fall under the cabinets in the kitchen.  The frig’s ice maker line had developed a leak, and before I discovered it, water had stood for I don’t know how long, soaking the floors.  I’m sure the floor beneath the cabinets has rotted, because I feel soft spots in some corners, and the upper cabinets beside the frig, I’m thinking, is all that’s holding the frig upright and keeping the machine from falling through the floor.   But, do I care?  I’m only afraid the frig will sink to new lows.

Last week, I was just plain tired of some things around here in this cracker box, so Mary and I tackled some heavy-duty spring cleaning, painting, moving furniture, and the like.  Over the weekend, I felt like I’d either run a marathon or been run over by a bulldozer.  Maybe both.

Reflections

So, there is a way to make a cracker box comfortable.

Bill O'Reilly's dresser but not his bride

Mary loves bright paint and colors.  It about puts my eyes out to walk in there.

Mary's board

Mary's Room

You should see the boys’ room.   Apple green with a pink heart border and stars.   So cute.  They just love it…   Actually, Mary moved from this room into the bigger bedroom, hence, the Nancy Drew books.   Jere bellowed about this arrangement, being 21 and all, but a girl’s gotta have some fun in life at big brother’s expense.

The Boys' Room

Yeah, trailer house decorating can be a lot of fun.  Life’s what you make it.  Like my good buddy, Tara, says:

Life…it may not be the party we hoped for, but while we’re here we should dance.

Y’all have a beautiful day!

9 Comments

  1. Brenda @ It's A Beautiful Life / Apr 19 2010 6:06 AM

    We had a fun browse through your new ‘home’. Had to chuckle at your comment on the old site… how if people didn’t come over to this site, you’d write them out of your will.

    Thanks for coming and saying hi… and leaving me birthday wishes too! Lovely to hear from you.

    Have a wonderful week — wishing you glimpses of heaven in unexpected places!

  2. Tara / Apr 16 2010 10:13 PM

    Hey Debbie!
    Haven’t blogged much at all this week…whew…just trying to get back into the swing of things after being off for a week. It took me the first part of the week to feel better and catch up on my lost week. I just checked your posts and noticed I had missed several. I noticed 2 things while I was reading this one, the devotional book I recommended and my NAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You are too sweet to recognize me.
    I think you are very wise in the ways you all are renovating and paying as you go.
    Hugs,
    Tara

  3. Vickie / Apr 16 2010 6:39 PM

    Hey Gib – you need to change the clock on your blog and post times. On your blog, it’s already April 16 at 6:30 p.m. Feels like dejavu, or something… ;o)

  4. Vickie / Apr 16 2010 6:36 PM

    No, C. Debbie, I get the dresser – you can have the Bill O’Reillly books. haha!

    I think you’re wise, too, Gib. I know your anxious to get it done and move in, but not having debt in this day and age is just wonderful!

    On the other hand, if you don’t want kids coming home “for a little while”, maybe you might wanna wait til they’re all on their own!

    Love the boys’ room. Tell them I said so! I think they should have pink/green sheets, too. Those sports sheets just don’t go with the walls!!!

  5. nola at alamo north / Apr 16 2010 11:58 AM

    In the end, it will all pay off and you will be debt free when others are up to their necks in it. Patience has it’s rewards.

  6. Debbie / Apr 16 2010 10:40 AM

    They say there is nothing new under the sun, but I think you may be on to something there! I believe you’d be successful at anything you do:)
    C.Deb

  7. dcwisdom / Apr 16 2010 9:09 AM

    Hey, Chicklet, I’m thinking of starting my own magazine publication called “Trailer House Decorating.” Whadya think? 🙂

  8. tanna / Apr 16 2010 9:01 AM

    And, hence the appropriateness of your title blog… wisdom. I think it is incredibly wise and admirable to remain debt free while renovating your wonderful dream. Besides that, you are so going to appreciate it when you are done. There is nothing like finishing a project (FINALLY). You almost feel like you are slacking when there isn’t all that work to be done! =) Then you just kick up your heels on that porch swing and ENJOY! It’s coming!

  9. Debbie / Apr 16 2010 8:12 AM

    Gib, that is absolutely beautiful! You should be featured in ‘Country Temporary” or something like that. Can I have that dresser when you die?
    How I can attest to going at things slow and paying as you go. When we meet, remind me to tell you about our 15 year live-in remodel and having one bath at a time- upstairs!!!! You’re wise. About the time all your kids leave home, you’ll finish the beautiful country home and you and Rick can move into that beautiful spacious home in time for grandkids. Or when the kids take turns coming home to live for ‘a little while’. At least you’ll have more than one bathroom:) I hope I’ve been a blessing……
    C. Debbie

Comments are closed.