Skip to content
April 1, 2010 / dcwisdom

Induction: Where’s the Boy?

The ceremony today was very nice.  No long and lengthy speeches.  Candlelight.  Nice piano music was played by a long-time family friend, Bridger.  Bridger and his brothers and Jeremiah and his brothers have a history.  They pulled lots of interesting capers in their early years, like window peeping and climbing on top of tall buildings.  It’s amazing they’re all still living.

Bridger playing piano for Phi Theta Kappa

Bridger and his brothers and my sons took classical piano from a dear friend who’s now on faculty at Rice University.  I’m proud of all my guys.

It was the induction ceremony today, and Kid #3 Jeremiah was the last name of the 42 students to be inducted.  We arrived in plenty of time to get good seats for picture taking.

Induction Ceremony

The guy at the table signing his name is NOT Jeremiah.  This young man was #40.

The reason I took his picture was because…

#42 DID NOT SHOW UP!

No, Jeremiah did not show up at his own induction ceremony!  It makes me wonder if he will show up at his wedding.  Or the birth of his first child.  Or when he receives his doctorate. 

Unknowingly, this fine scholar (and lucky young guy) stood in for my precious Jeremiah, and for me.  Just so I could have a picture of what could have been.  *sigh*

While sitting there, seething, and watching the other fine students awarded their honor society recognition, I decided to just enjoy the moment and know that something held Jere up…somewhere…

Like his physics test that ran long.  Really.

I gotta laugh…

C’est la Vie

6 Comments

  1. Tara / Apr 2 2010 12:34 PM

    Whew…so glad he wasn’t hurt or anything! Congrats to him. Such smart children you have. Take after their mama.
    Hugs,
    Tara

  2. Rayanne / Apr 2 2010 8:10 AM

    Cute and funny story!
    You have SMART kids!!!
    I love the Rice University area…so pretty!
    You and your Mom were right about my English gram book.
    I did not go to college, so I read alot to try and teach myself, don’t know yet if it’s working…hehe.

  3. Vickie / Apr 2 2010 5:23 AM

    These kids! My oldest did something similar at A&M. He was supposed to get an award in the Corps and they had the auditorium full of parents and students – Parents Weekend. Did my son show up? No. We sat through all the others wondering where he was. He dragged in at the very end. I can’t even remember why he was so late. We were so irritated.

    Hope Jeremiah did good on his physics test!

  4. Debbie / Apr 2 2010 1:07 AM

    On my way back from North Carolina to see my daughter Emily inducted in 2004, we were involved in a highway accident which totaled my car and sent us to the hospital. Luckily she wasn’t with us, but we were all so beat up, we were a day late getting back and missed it. She was there by herself. Is that sad or what? Come to think of it, she had a birthday on March 22nd. She got my gift yesterday (31st). What a mom she has! Excuse me while I go flog myself!
    Chicklet Deb

  5. tanna / Apr 2 2010 12:35 AM

    So sorry about missing that special moment… but, I am sure the physics test was much more important. Congratulations to Jeremiah (love his name)!

    ps ya’ll can’t come visit until I get back from VA. I’d sooooooo hate to miss meeting ya’ll!

  6. Marylou55 / Apr 1 2010 11:45 PM

    Too funny! Sorry it didn’t turn out the way you expected, though.

Comments are closed.