Skip to content
March 31, 2010 / dcwisdom

Writer Waiting…

Shel Silverstein.  Heard of him?  Probably my favorite contemporary poet.  You know, he gets me.  He’s quirky; I’m quirky.  Squirrely Shirley.  (SS is my alter ego.  I don’t know.  Maybe my other personality is the alter ego.  Maybe I schizo.  *sigh*   Heck, who knows.  I probably need help.)

Tonight, for you, my dear friends, it’s “Writer Waiting.”

Oh this shiny new computer –

There just isn’t nothin’ cuter.

It knows everything the world ever knew.

And with this great computer

I don’t need no writin’ tutor,

‘Cause there ain’t a single thing that it can’t do.

It can sort and it can spell,

It can punctuate as well.

It can find and file and underline and type.

It can edit and select,

It can copy and correct,

So I’ll have a whole book written by tonight

(Just as soon as it can think of what  to write).

See you in the funny papers.

9 Comments

  1. Shawnee / Apr 2 2010 5:25 PM

    I always learn something fun and interesting from your blogs! I, too, enjoy Shel Silverstein. I became a fan when my own son was in middle school.
    Thanks for the enlightenment!

  2. tanna / Apr 1 2010 4:21 PM

    Fun! We have a poet amongst us! =) Have a very Happy Easter, Debbie! Enjoy that new computer.

  3. Diana Ferguson / Apr 1 2010 3:05 PM

    Easter blessings your way!

  4. Tara / Apr 1 2010 1:40 PM

    Well you know I adore Shel Silverstein! You so funny.
    I noticed my sister Toni, commented on your blog. She hasn’t posted anything yet, but at least we have her set up so she can comment. One step at a time!
    Hugs,
    Tara

  5. Stacey at Living by Faith / Apr 1 2010 8:32 AM

    You are so much fun! I love Shel Silverstein.

  6. nola at the alamo / Apr 1 2010 3:31 AM

    How cute, that’s my daily dose of poetry! Hope you have a blessed Easter.

  7. Debbie / Apr 1 2010 1:44 AM

    Just stopped by
    to say Hi
    Chicket
    Deb

  8. Marylou55 / Mar 31 2010 11:35 PM

    My favorite from him is “There’s too many kids in this tub. There’s too many elbows to scrub. I just washed a behind; I don’t think it was mine. There’s too many kids in this tub.”

    Sometimes I had all three little girls in the tub at once; this poem was perfect for us. Thanks for the memory!

  9. Vickie / Mar 31 2010 7:00 PM

    Yep, we had some Shel books around here especially when the kids were little. We all loved the TREE book. Made me cry every time…

Comments are closed.