Skip to content
March 27, 2010 / dcwisdom

$200,000 Surprise

Back in my early married years (20’s and 30’s), I received those over-sized envelopes in the mail from Publisher’s Clearinghouse.  To qualify to enter the sweepstakes, year after year I would buy all sorts of magazines – Good Housekeeping, Redbook, Better Homes and Gardens…  Some of you will remember doing that.  I entered knowing that I would NOT be the one selected to win the grand prize of $gazillions, but I always thought in the back of my mind “maybe…just maybe…” 

One year, I was notified that I was a finalist, and the people would call on me on a certain Sunday night, and where would I be?  Would I be at home or at a friend’s house?  I was supposed to watch for them.  They could be coming to my house.

Gosh, I was such a sucker.

Yesterday, I was on the phone conducting business, and Kid#5 Mary comes in all breathless and says, “Mom, Cara (named changed to protect the innocent) just called!  Her mom just won $200,000 from Publishers Clearinghouse!”

“Wha…..????”  I’m mouthing to her.  I very well couldn’t hang up, so as soon as I could, I called my friend.

“Now, what happened to you?”  Yes, her daughter had entered her name, PC called her today, and the delivery will be made this weekend.  At first, she had thought they said “$2000” but, noooooo, it’s the big one.  Big enough!

I have never been so happy for anyone!  She’s a single mom and working hard to provide for her family, and she’s so faithful to the Lord.  I believe that she’s getting a little bit of financial heaven here on earth.  God bless you, girlfriend.  I’m proud for you.

SO, WHAT WOULD YOU DO WITH $200,000?  Come on.  Fess up.

10 Comments

  1. Stacey at Living by Faith / Mar 31 2010 12:57 PM

    Wow! That is so incredible. I love it too that you are super happy for her.

  2. nola at the alamo / Mar 29 2010 1:18 PM

    Nope, I’ve never known anyone who really won, either.
    If I won, I’d pay off all the bills, go on a small spending spree, then help pay for college for as many of my family members as I could.

  3. tanna / Mar 29 2010 2:05 AM

    Have to say I am with the others… I didn’t know real people ever won! What a wonderful blessing for a single mom. I’ve been there and done that and a $200K gift is INDEED a miracle! Praise God from whom all blessings flow…

  4. Vickie / Mar 28 2010 4:14 PM

    But if I won $200,000 I can think of some college kids’ student loans I’d like to get paid off!!!

  5. Vickie / Mar 28 2010 4:09 PM

    Howdy-do! When I’ve found $$$ that doesn’t belong to me I put it in the offering plate at church. That’s what I’ve taught my kids to do. It’s not my $$$ – it belonged to somebody. So, I just give it to the Lord – perhaps in some way it’ll bless that person that it belonged to! Wishful thinking I guess ….

  6. Rayanne / Mar 28 2010 3:47 AM

    a while back, my son found $100.00 on the ground.
    He took us (family) out to dinner. I will not forget that!
    I use to play that clearing house stuff…but then I though…I’ll never win. Wow, good for your friend.
    I bragged on you over at my art site yesterday.
    Have a great weekend friend!

  7. Tara / Mar 28 2010 2:32 AM

    Would that be considered “Supernatural Increase?” That is so awesome. I am like the others, I didn’t know real people actually won. LOL….
    I am heading out to my “Artzy Girlz” day. Going to melt glass and make window art. YIPPEE!
    Hugs,
    Tara

  8. Debbie / Mar 28 2010 12:31 AM

    Wow! I didn’t know ‘real’ people ever really did win that! I’m happy for your friend:)
    Debbie Chicklet

  9. Marylou55 / Mar 27 2010 11:32 PM

    Wow oh wow!! Isn’t God something! Thanks for sharing this.

  10. Becca / Mar 27 2010 6:02 PM

    That is wonderful- the Lord is always faithful to bless us when we least expect it.

    ~Becca

Comments are closed.