Skip to content
March 26, 2010 / dcwisdom

MOM! OMG!

Got a call from Brin this morning:  “MOM!” 

I couldn’t tell if it was a good MOM or a panicked MOM.  Since she left for college back in 1996, that’s what I’ve come to expect.  “MOM!”

Then I have to try to decipher the code.

But, this morning, it was a mix of good and panicked.  Yeah, how can that be, right?  Brin is published.  That’s exciting news!  This was a break she’d been looking for.  AOL contacted her a while back and wanted her to write and send her recipes for Lemon Drop articles.   But know that when you sign contracts like that, your article becomes their property, and therefore, they take liberties to sell your words. 

Weeellllll,  Lemon Drop targets the young crowd and uses their typical genre for marketing.  In other words, Mothers and Grandmothers, they use SEX TO SELL.  Yeah, it’s all about sex and money and entertainment.Lemon Drop 

So, if you’ve read my daughter’s blog for any amount of time, you know she doesn’t blog in the typical language of her age group.  She’s a very conservative person in her writing, but SHE’S HILARIOUS!  And moody.  And romantic.  Like her dad.  And poetic.  But, SHE’S HILARIOUS! 

So when she called me all panicked-like about some of the lines AOL edited into her article, I jumped over to Lemon Drop, read it, and burst out laughing.

“Mom, how can you laugh about that?  Look what they wrote.  I’m so embarrassed.  My blog readers are not going to like this.  I’ve already had comments.”

Did the end of the world come, and I missed it?

Well, what’s done is done.  I told her she might lose some very loyal followers, but she’ll gain a busload of others.  Those old ladies that read her (and I’m one of you) will just have to understand and NOT READ THE ARTICLES.  I’ll probably read all of them and either laugh or roll my eyes.  What’s done is done.

Maybe the new followers will go back and read her blog and glean from her experiences and from her faith.  She has a message.  Perhaps this is the door for her message.  But, if the Lord tarries or BHO doesn’t send us all south, I can foresee a cookbook deal and a book tour, for sure.

P.S.  For lasagna, I use the box recipe.

16 Comments

  1. Sue / Mar 31 2010 9:38 AM

    I have read Brin for a long time and in fact found your blog through hers. I read the Lemon Drop article and even commented that the title did not go with the usual Brin writing. Such is life and I appreciate you putting things in perspective for Brin and the rest of us. I do not understand some of the other comments that were left?! Laughter is often the best response. I also do agree that although the title does not reflect the Brin I have met via her blog, it may serve as a path for those who need inspiration and direction to find her blog and glean from it.

  2. diana / Mar 29 2010 6:23 AM

    I have been a follower of Brin’s blog for a long time.
    Like I commented on her blog… love her blog and love lasagne…. and as a mom of college kids… I also strive to lessen my child’s anxiety and to add humor into the lessons life throws their way.

  3. Megan / Mar 27 2010 12:45 PM

    Wow! I just wanted to thank you for reminding me to be SO appreciative of my own Mother and the love and support she renders me daily; I thank God that you are not my
    mother and feel nothing but saddness for your children.

    • dcwisdom / Mar 27 2010 5:27 PM

      Thank you, Megan, for sharing your opinion. It makes my heart glad to know that you love your mother. That’s a beautiful thing.

  4. Tara / Mar 27 2010 11:44 AM

    Hey Deb! I don’t know why AOL feels like they need to change up Brin’s wonderful writing. I have been following her for a little over a year and she is a very inspiration writer.
    I don’t know who Anonymous is, but that is pretty chicken if you ask me to spill their guts and not put a name. Oh well, lots of people out there are gutless, but want to share their opinions.
    IF they only know what we know about you and Brin they wouldn’t of ever put that.
    Hugs,
    Tara

  5. Debbie / Mar 27 2010 6:32 AM

    Obviously ‘concerned’ doesn’t know you very well or she wouldn’t have posted that. I think she totally misunderstood your description of your response. I’m sure Brin didn’t get the impression that this individual did. “She’s taken a wrong idea and run wild with it!” I know you’re upset; nothing yanks our chains quicker than being accused of not being supportive of our kids. But again, this lady is obviously not someone who knows you well or reads your blog often, so schluff it off and let her narrow, misguided comments blow like chaff in the wind.
    Love ya Gib, Debbie

  6. Vickie / Mar 27 2010 4:53 AM

    Deb – who is that person! I guess I didn’t read that comment before. I’m sure they are seeing things from their own point of view, but how can a person criticize someone whom they’ve never met, never talked to, never observed the love that you have for your kids AND more importantly – for Christ.

    “CONCERNED”, I, too, have been reading Brin’s blog for nearly 2 1/2 years and I know her heart – She pours her faith, heart and soul into her posts, and her love for God and the things that are important to her shine through her words. I hope that “concerned” will think about what he/she has just said & the manner in which it was done and ask the Lord to forgive him/her for judging you or your daughter. I’ve known you for quite sometime, too, and I know what kind of Christian mother you are – God first, family second. Shame on “concerned”.

    This is YOUR blog. We all share parts of our lives, our experiences, our problems, our joys, our faith, and sometimes a little humor, too! “Concerned” shouldn’t judge and criticize ANONYMOUSLY. If they had real concerns, she/he could have sent you an email privately instead of putting it out there for all the world to see. Please forgive “concerned”, Deb, and love and pray for him/her, too. Perhaps they meant well, but are just mis-informed because they do not know you or your kids. You’re tops in my book!!!

  7. tanna / Mar 27 2010 2:12 AM

    Debbie, I can’ t wait to check out your daughter’s blog! Congratulations to her!!

    Thank you so much for your sweet offer of prayer. I look forward to meeting you, Tara and Vickie!

  8. Marylou55 / Mar 26 2010 11:02 PM

    I found your blog through Brin’s and have loved her blog for a long time. Last year was such a sad year! I hope things will go well for her with this new opportunity.

  9. Concerned / Mar 26 2010 2:05 PM

    You said: “So when she called me all panicked-like about some of the lines AOL edited into her article, I jumped over to Lemon Drop, read it, and burst out laughing.
    “Mom, how can you laugh about that?  Look what they wrote.  I’m so embarrassed.  My blog readers are not going to like this.  I’ve already had comments.”
    Did the end of the world come, and I missed it?”

    “The LORD is compassionate and gracious,
    slow to anger, abounding in love.”
    I think this means that love is compassionate. You think Brin felt you were being compassionate?

    You said: “Those old ladies that read her (and I’m one of you) will just have to understand and NOT READ THE ARTICLES.  I’ll probably read all of them and either laugh or roll my eyes.”

    “Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy,
    it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails.”
    Do you mean you will laugh and roll your eyes at your daughter and what she has written? I’m hoping you mean that you will laugh and roll your eyes at what you are sure they did to her writing because I’m pretty sure that love protecting doesn’t include laughing and rolling your eyes.

    “As a father has compassion on his children,
    so the LORD has compassion on those who fear him; for He knows how we are formed, He remembers that we are dust.”
    He remembers that we are dust, knows how short our lives are and yet HE still condescends to us and whatever is important to us, He makes it important to Him because that’s what LOVE does. So one more time I will ask you, are you loving your daughter the way you have been asked to? The way Christ loves you? The way God the Father loves you? As you love yourself?? Pray about it. Please.

    • dcwisdom / Mar 26 2010 7:02 PM

      Wow. Who ARE you? Give me a name and place and we’ll talk face to face. A word of advice: NEVER doubt a mother’s love for her child (are you a mom?), and remember that not one of us is perfect and shall not attain perfection until we see Him face to face.

  10. jeanette / Mar 26 2010 12:19 PM

    Debbie,

    I’ve been reading Brin’s blog for years and know that she would never throw in sexy junk in order to get herself noticed. She’s alot like my daughter in that while she shows her human side she also shows a steadfast and faithful walk with our Saviour. She’s a daughter any Mama would be proud to claim! Tell her I said so…

    • dcwisdom / Mar 26 2010 1:59 PM

      Thanks, Jeanette, for your vote of confidence. She has worked very hard for what she has and has had many ups and downs. But the past is the past, and a glorious future awaits. Hallelujah! There’s always hope.

  11. Vickie / Mar 26 2010 10:18 AM

    Hey, Gib – I’m excited for Brin, too, but I couldn’t open the link either to Lemon Drop. ??? Willcheck back later – K?

  12. Rayanne / Mar 26 2010 8:23 AM

    I’m very excited about your daughter’s site….I just can’t get it to open????????????

    • dcwisdom / Mar 26 2010 8:53 AM

      Rayanne, I’ll try to fix this. Look over in my blogroll for her link. Thanks for the heads up.

Comments are closed.