Skip to content
March 22, 2010 / dcwisdom

Snow in Texas and Wal-Mart

In Texas, if the slightest chance of even the most minuscule accumulation of snow is predicted, your presence is required at the local grocery store. It does not matter if you need anything from the store. It is just something you’re supposed to do.

So, I went to Wal-Mart.  I bought peanuts and napkins.  And Brookshires (sour cream, cream cheese, potatoes) and the movie store (“Did You Hear About the Morgans?”).  Yeah, we would be socked in, and I was planning for the worst.   How bad can it be, really, with snow in March in Texas?

Especially since Monday’s temps are predicting to be 61 degrees.  I am enjoying the fact that spring is just on the other side of the clock.

It snowed constantly for over 24 hours.  No accumulation except on my deck.  It was a cold day.

So, how cold was it?  Well, it was so cold that I had to put weather-stripping around the trap door in Rick’s winter underwear.     *kaboomsssssss*

Back to Wal-Mart tomorrow.  I have to make another cheesecake for Starla’s wedding shower tomorrow night.  The one I made earlier is soupy in the middle.   Hmmm…Maybe I’ll just buy one at Wal-Mart.

But, hey, it snowed in Texas, and I went to Wal-Mart.

9 Comments

  1. Tara / Mar 24 2010 12:53 PM

    You and Vickie are too funny! And the trapdoor…let’s just say I had to go get Kleenexs. Thought I was going to have to visit the potty too.
    Can you believe that snow? We rented the Morgans too and watched it that night. Should of just invited you all over. LOL…
    Hugs,
    Tara

  2. Vickie / Mar 24 2010 5:27 AM

    Ok, me again – promise I’m not stalking you. I know I have your address, but it’s lost in 1,907 emails that I have not deleted from my email. Can you please send me your address again? Thanks!

  3. Vickie / Mar 24 2010 4:18 AM

    Ok girlfriend – you’re going to be #1 on the Pay It Forward giveaway. Copy the text on my post and paste it into your blog and you’re on your way! Have a great day!

  4. Marylou55 / Mar 23 2010 11:37 PM

    When we hear of a snowstorm in northwestern Pennsylvania, we all head to the store to stock up on bread, milk, toilet paper, and snacks. But then we usually get our snow measured in feet! I saw your snow predicted on the Weather Channel, and I thought about you. Piece of cake! Glad it wasn’t anything worse.

  5. Rayanne / Mar 23 2010 12:12 PM

    I just can not get over this Texas weather!!

  6. Mary / Mar 23 2010 7:45 AM

    Weather-stripping on the trap door of the underwear.

    I cannot stop laughing!!!!

  7. Vickie / Mar 22 2010 7:09 PM

    Oh, I thought you were up late. Why did I think that? I don’t know why…. I should go to bed. My brain is not working….

  8. Vickie / Mar 22 2010 7:05 PM

    Hey, why the heck are we all still up at this hour!!!

    Three great minds…

    We got snow, too. Snowed all night and day long, went to church anyway by myself cuz Tony was out of town. I couldn’t let myself out at the door under the driveway at church. I actually had to walk in the blizzard conditions across the parking lot (cuz I was a little late) holding onto my coat, purse, Bible, and umbrella. I may have well as not even DONE my hair at all. No amount of hairspray would put it back to pieces. AND my umbrella turned inside out!

    Anyway, hope you have a wonderful day tomorrow when we all get up sleepy because of blogging all night!

    chickie vickie

  9. Debbie / Mar 22 2010 5:47 PM

    I loved that movie! Yea, it’s the same here. The stores are full and things empty out quick, especially the milk and bread. All that pushing and shoving; I hope I didn’t hurt anyone.
    Chicklet Deb

Comments are closed.