Skip to content
March 21, 2010 / dcwisdom

I Said So Long, Winter

Just a few hours ago, the world was bright and cheery, here in the Ark-La-Tex, anyway.   The calendar says that winter should be gone, and spring has already shown her pretty face over the gray, cold clouds, so why is it snowing outside?  In Texas?  On March 20?  Impossible!  Unheard of!

But, before the temperatures fell from 68 this morning to 50 by 4:30, this is what Rick and I accomplished at the Renovation House.

I KNOW THIS MEANS ABSOLUTELY NOTHING TO YOU!  But, to us, it’s almost time for a major celebration.  For two years, only working maybe 35 Saturdays a year, Rick and I have reinstalled all new wiring and a security system, reframed two bathrooms, two closets, and the pantry.  We’ve installed two bathtubs and a shower, toilet and sink and washer drains.  This picture shows almost the end of the drainage system which is 98% complete.  This represents another major accomplishment for us do-it-yourselfers.

There are major projects to do that Rick and I won’t do, like insulation, dry wall, septic system, cabinetry and floors.   Our chimney, which is enclosed on three sides, needs a stove and pipe and its final wall, and we’ll tackle the interior painting and trim work.

The new shutters are a nice contrast with the lighter colors and make the white posts and details pop.

We have decided to add white railing and turned banisters to the porch and brick work along the bottom of the porch with a brick patio and steps.   Our wish list is long.

Well, all in good time.  Since we are not borrowing funds to get these projects done sooner, we’ve learned to be more patient and just enjoy the process.  Rick and I have also learned to work well together.  I’m telling you – he’s a genius!   I respect that.

Tomorrow, go and worship the Risen King.

6 Comments

  1. Glenda / Mar 25 2010 2:39 AM

    What a gorgeous house! I love the color combination!

  2. Rayanne / Mar 23 2010 12:11 PM

    This is what me and the husband will be doing the last week in April.
    I love your home….so pretty.

  3. Tanna / Mar 22 2010 7:32 AM

    Woo Hoo!!! What an accomplishment! From one who knows about all the work, congratulations on all you have done! It is awesome that you and your husband work so well together. My hat is off to the both of you!!

  4. Mary / Mar 22 2010 1:27 AM

    I can imagine you are feeling the excitement of great strides on your home. It looks wonderful, and it must be fulfilling.

    Have a great Sunday!

  5. Marylou55 / Mar 22 2010 12:13 AM

    I love the colors of this house!

  6. Vickie / Mar 21 2010 7:37 PM

    Good night, friend – rather, good morning! Your house is looking great! I love the shutters and I think white porch rails would just really set that house off. I have to paint mine. We had to let the wood cure for awhile before painting but now it’s been curing for 2 years. We just need to get it done. I know how that is just working on weekends trying to get all these projects done.
    Enjoy your Lord’s Day and may He bless you and yours richly!

Comments are closed.