Skip to content
March 20, 2010 / dcwisdom

How to Celebrate the Last Day of Winter

So long, winter.  And it was a looooooong winter, even for Texas.  I was telling Kid#5 Mary that I cannot remember a longer, colder winter in Texas.   I think they call it ‘global warming.’

It was a picnic day, perfect for a simple, happy celebration.  I still love PB&J.  Crunchy.  Strawberry jam.  Sweet tea.

A Mt. Olive dill pickle spear and celery with mozzarella cheese added more crunch.

In Texas, we have only two seasons:  winter, early summer, summer, and late summer.  It’s almost time for fresh tomatoes, and I’m on pins and needles just waiting for them.   If you are a peanut butter AND tomato lover, here’s a sandwich recipe using the combination:

SUMMERY PEANUT BUTTER -TOMATO SANDWICH

  • 1 slice whole wheat bread, or a good sourdough
  • crunchy (or smooth if you prefer) peanut butter
  • a summer-y, fresh-from-the-vine, ripe tomato
  • salt and pepper

Toast the bread slice in the oven or the toaster.  Spread as much peanut butter as you like on the toast.  Top with a thick slice of fresh tomato.  (It has to be fresh, preferably from the vine.  Go to the farmer’s market or a good neighbor for fresh tomatoes if you don’t have a garden.)  Sprinkle with a pinch of salt and as much pepper as I like!   It’s surprisingly good.  Serve with nothing but icy sweet tea.  Maybe some Baked Lays would be good.  Heaven!

See you in the funny papers.

5 Comments

  1. dcwisdom / Mar 21 2010 5:14 AM

    Tara, the queen size quilt was made by my mother sitting at the nursing home with my dad. I was shocked when she gave it to me. It’s one of my most prized possessions – one of a kind. Man, I should have called you!

  2. Tara / Mar 21 2010 4:16 AM

    Where was my invite to the picnic? Tee hee… Looks like fun. Love me some PB, not sure about the tomato on it. BUT, you have pretty good taste, so I will give it a try. First, you have to loan me some fresh tomaters. Love that quilt. Did you stitch it? I would be happy to have one of those too. Hint…hint!
    Hugs,
    Tara

  3. Tanna / Mar 21 2010 1:52 AM

    I love peanut butter and mayo, peanut butter and banana, peanut butter, banana and mayo, just plain peanut butter, and peanut butter and jelly… but, peanut butter and tomato??? Not sure about that one! LOL! I do love a good tomato on white bread, so soft it sticks to the roof of your mouth, with mayo, salt and pepper!

  4. Marylou55 / Mar 20 2010 11:27 PM

    I think I’d prefer a tomato on the side and not ruin the good taste of plain old peanut butter. But hey, that’s what makes the world go round.

    Happy spring to you anyway!

  5. Deborah Pucci / Mar 20 2010 8:36 PM

    The picnic looks like it was fun. I will have to try PB with the tomatoe, thanks for the tip!

Comments are closed.