Skip to content
March 19, 2010 / dcwisdom

Spring at Holly Hill

Holly Hill Homestead is on my short list of places to go.   Jolene Turner bought it years ago from Lady Kathryn Calloway and then married Tim Wilson.  Jolene and Tim have loved the hill and the homestead and the solitude and peace.  And I have loved going there.  If you want a special country home place to park for a weekend or retreat, Holly Hill is the perfect bed and breakfast.

Yesterday was Jolene’s birthday.  Tim bought the sweetest things for her – two little black bunnies and a garden tiller.  Isn’t he the best?  Now, girls, we can laugh, but it’s actually what Jolene wanted.  Tim said she screamed when she saw the tiller.  That’s Jolene!

 

HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY, JOLENE!  I LOVE YOU!

 

 

There’s Jolene in her 30’s-style kitchen.  No mechanical dishwasher.  Just her two little hands.  She recently bought a new GE stove that has a gas top and two electric ovens.  The bottom drawer is an oven for pizzas, cakes, and other flat pan dishes.  Isn’t that cool?!  She’s so proud!

Last October, I posted (in my other blog http://attractedtoshinyobjects.blogspot.com ) about the tornado in our area that took down one big tree on our property.  Well, on Holly Hill, a big tornado took down at least 80% of their trees, their gazebo and RV, and damaged a rooftop corner of the house that’s in the picture behind Tim.  That’s the corner and part of the new roof.  Cleanup will take at least two years, they say.

But spring at Holly Hill is always beautiful.

This rooster got after my friend Cindy, spurring her three times, but never fear.   She’s versed in the world of chickens, and she put him back in his place.  She’s so brave.  I was running away.

This area was forested and shady last year.  Now Jolene can plant Lantana and zinnias and crêpe myrtle and tiger lilies and canna…  If you go to her web site, you can see pictures of the hill before the tornado took the trees.

Amos has been here for years.  When it gets quiet in the house, he entertains himself and anyone else within hearing distance.  You should hear what he says and his imitations of sounds.  He can laugh just like I laugh.  Scary! 

Isn’t he a beauty?!  He had his fan out, but I wasn’t quick enough on the camera draw or to move around to get the picture.  

Today, I need to be burning leaves, but I think I’ll get the kids thinking about something fun to do before spring break is over and we haven’t made a group memory.  I made them pancakes for lunch since it was noon before they stirred.

Y’all have a great day!  I already have, just being with you.  See you in the funny papers.

7 Comments

  1. Debbie / Mar 21 2010 2:18 AM

    At last, I have found you. Why am I the last to know these things? See you in June>>>>
    Chicket Deb

  2. Tanna / Mar 20 2010 5:09 PM

    Deb, that peacock is breathtaking! I would have loved to have seen it with its tail fanned out! Wow!

    I’m going to have to go check out Holly Hill!

  3. Vickie / Mar 20 2010 7:02 AM

    Hey Deb – how have I not been to Holly Hill’s blog? Well, you can bet I will now!

    Cute little kitchen she has – little and cute! I’ll be that is a nice place to stay, all homey, and I love the swing. I need one at my place… hmmm….

    I’m afraid if the rooster got after me with his spurs I’d have kicked him into next week – at least kicked him towards the dinner table! How do ya fend off an attacking rooster anyway?
    Have a great weekend and do something fun with your kiddos!

  4. Jeannie / Mar 19 2010 12:17 PM

    Just had to say love the new blog and Holly Hill looks heavenly. Blessings!

  5. nola at the alamo / Mar 19 2010 9:32 AM

    That tree swing looks like the perfect place to spend a sunny afternoon! I’ll go visit her blog…

  6. cgcf1979 / Mar 19 2010 9:23 AM

    What a wonderful blog you have. I found you on Jolene’s blog. I’ve never been to Holly Hill but it sounds wonderful!

  7. Tara / Mar 19 2010 9:03 AM

    Oh man! I didn’t know it was her birthday. I will have to wish her a belated one today. Isn’t she a jewel. So funny, I posted about her on my blog today too. See….those great minds still thinkin alike!
    How fun! Great post.
    Hugs,
    Tara

Comments are closed.