Skip to content
March 16, 2010 / dcwisdom

Look Who’s In the House

Sweetheart Himself

Instead of spending the week at the beach… or snow skiing… or doing anything fun away from home (I’m such a bucket of whine!)I’m comparing auto insurance quotes and cooking.  Wanna come over?  I’ll spot you a game of Pente or rummy.

But, look who‘s in the house this week! 

This cute Kid #3 Jere has two places he crashes – here and at our rent house.  Since he works the wee morning hours (4:30 to 8:30) at

FedEx, he’s rarely here during the week.   So, I count it a blessing when he’s here with me.  I realized my time with my boys and Mary will reach an end in the near future, and I will be all too happy to kick ’em out when the time comes.

After 31 years of having kids in the house, Rick and I look forward to seeing them grown and gone.  Each of them would gasp, and they would complain that they are no longer loved, but we all know that’s not the case.

My goal as a parent is to help the little birdies   fly on their own and not be life-long dependants.  I figured out years ago that I, as their home school teacher, could not teach them everything there is to know about life and academics.  There is still a whole world of lessons to learn after they fly my nest, and things they have to experience themselves.

I also cannot and will not accept responsibility for their adult choices, and they must be taught and must  learn personal responsibility early at home.  Life is a tough teacher.  If  kids are coddled all their lives, how can they face the giants of life and expect to overcome fear and adversity?

Like, buying car insurance.   I didn’t even know how to get quotes, make  comparisons, and procure insurance contracts until a few years ago.  I think this is something all young men and women should know.

And, as long as I’m on the bandwagon, what about cooking?  Our young people think cooking is going through Huong Sing’s window for carryout.  Some girls don’t even know how to tell when water boils.

Sometimes, I’m such an enabler.   Sam brought two mending projects to me:  A button needing reattached, and a jacket pocket ripped halfway off.  Instead of handing him the needle, thread, and scissors, we’re sitting there talking while I sew on the button and pin the pocket.   He’s just tickled to have mama do it for him.

But, I refuse to do their laundry.  In the bathroom are two big piles of dirty clothes which have been there for two weeks.  I just close the door and pretend I haven’t seen them.

If Jere wants clean clothes, he’ll have to do his own laundry.

Such a comical kid!

Sam came in this morning via Emily (his girlfriend), both on spring break.   He and Emily work at On The Border on Knox-Henderson in Dallas and found replacements this week so to take off a few days.  If you are ever close to Dallas, stop in and ask for either of them for wait service, and be sure to leave big tips.  Sam will also spend four weeks this summer in four Asian countries doing missionary work, for which he’s in the middle of preparations besides carrying his school load.   But, he does his own laundry.

Pretty Rosa

And Rosa’s here today.  This girl really is a beauty.  Once again, Mary pointed the camera, and this is what she got.  Mary and Rosa act like they were born joined at the hip.   These two girls are the movie-goingest girls I know.  I think Rosa does her own laundry, too.

Cute guy!

Chris is here, too.  He lived with us over the Christmas holidays, but he’s plum tired of dorm life and ready for some home cookin’.  Tonight, I fixed fried chicken strips, mashed potatoes, gravy, and pinto beans.  You would have thought he had eaten nothing but Ramen noodles the last few weeks.   Actually, he has eaten them, he said, uncooked.   Oh, my poor baby!  He sends Facebook messages about the coolest things.  One day, I replied to him, “IYQ!”  He couldn’t figure out my message.  Can you?  As far as laundry, Chris unscrews the bottom panel off the washers in the dorm to look for quarters on the floor that didn’t deposit while he’s washing his clothes.  He’s so enterprising.

Tonight, they all went out and played volleyball for two and a half hours with friends at the church.  And I stayed here working on trying to sort out this WordPress world.  But, I didn’t do laundry.

Studying insurance quotes

Here are Sam and Mary looking at insurance quotes.  Actually, I don’t know what’s on the screen, but tomorrow I’m sitting them down and showing them insurance apples to apples, a good home school lesson in business math.  Mary washed my laundry today.

I don’t care if it IS spring break.

6 Comments

  1. Miss A / Mar 18 2010 1:50 PM

    What??? Laundry on Spring Break?! Tell me it isn’t so!!!

    ; )

  2. nola at the alamo / Mar 17 2010 6:41 AM

    Hey, I found your new home, where’s the “Follower” button so I can follow you? In the meantime I’ll try to add you to Google Reader. See ya!

  3. Tara / Mar 17 2010 3:07 AM

    I give…what is IYQ? Lots of fun going on at your Casa. Can’t wait for our lunch date. Fun…fun! Lovin your new blog.
    Hugs,
    Tara

  4. Vickie / Mar 17 2010 3:02 AM

    Good job with the kiddos, Gib. We’re trying to do that, too. My kids have been doing their own laundry since middle/high school. I did a post about that a while back – you know – the laundry-mat fiasco…

    Looks like you’ve got a household of fun and silly kids – there’s nothing I love better than when my 3 goofballs are home and just being themselves. Of course, I’m exhausted when they leave (not because I’m waiting on them) – there’s just so much fun and games and late nights I can stand! But I wouldn’t trade it for anything in the whole wide world!!!

    What is IYQ? I give up… hmmmm…. something with “quarters”?

  5. tanna / Mar 17 2010 2:09 AM

    Looks like you have a fun houseful!! Okay, what is IQY? I can’t figure it out either. LOL.

  6. Marylou55 / Mar 16 2010 11:28 PM

    We switched to AARP car insurance with Hartford and saved over a thousand dollars a year! I turned 50 four years ago; wish I knew then what I know now 😀

Comments are closed.