Skip to content
March 15, 2010 / dcwisdom

Weekend Country Action

Update on the Incredible Woman:  She’s hangin’ in there.  Since this week is spring break for my two college boys (Kid #3 Jere and Kid #4 Sam) and Kid #5 Mary, I’ll be traveling to the IW’s bedside as soon as everyone’s settled in for the week.  I’ll let you know.

Yeah, this will give you a thrill up your leg, this weekend country action post.  Ummhmm.

Rick and I worked hard at the Renovation House this weekend.  You know, I will have to come up with another name for my country house when it’s finished. 

I have named this lovely swing “The Love Swing.”  Given to me on Valentine’s Day by my true love, we sit here and dream fine things, watch the birds, solve the world’s problems, and hold hands.  Maybe we sneak a kiss.  If no one’s looking.  (Kid #3 caught us makin’ out at the bar this morning.)

My view from the front porch Love Swing is pure country.  See the small trees across the field?   They were Christmas trees until a fungus got ’em.  They all have to be cut and burned.  That will be the end of a twenty year love affair with growing Christmas trees.

I’ve zoomed my camera out to the bird feeder to catch the bird action.  Normally, Mr. Redheaded Woodpecker  reserves the entire cafe to himself.  Alas, Mr. Cardinal wanted a seat today.  We heard hissing from the birds as they fought for the donuts.  It became the “War of the Birds.”   It was very entertaining.

Oh my goodness mercy!  What a shot!   I am so glad you, dear reader, are not behind me viewing the vastness of space!   Rick sneaked this while I was planting white/pink daffodils in the hosta bed.   When I stood up, my face looked like a tomato and my eyes were rolled back in my head.   *coocoo*

We placed the ‘new’ bench by the ivy bed.   By ‘new,’ I mean I stole this from someone’s front yard.   She wasn’t home.

I really wanted to be on a bike ride.

We plumbed in spite of the beautiful weather outside.  We have yet to plumb the drains of the last two bathtubs, having 3 1/2 bathrooms, with both tubs upstairs.  Then the hot/cold water lines will be installed, the ice maker line, the dishwasher line, and I think everything will be completely plumbed.  Hallelujah!

I’m telling you — RICK IS A GENIOUS! (singsong)

Y’all have a great week!  See you in the funny papers.

One Comment

  1. Vickie / Mar 16 2010 7:47 PM

    Hey Gib – ya’ll got a bunch done this weekend! I love your porch swing. When I was in Granbury, I saw a little shop that had rocking chairs on the porch, and they had some that looked like they matched your swing. I thought of you when I saw them. I think they were the same color, too.

    Sorry about your Christmas trees :o(. My Pawpaw had some, too, but they got out of hand and grew up so big without getting trimmed (he fell and broke his ankle and never did recover well) and so they just let them go.

    I can’t wait to see pictures of your completed house. Your place looks so pretty. You’ll have a place big enough for your whole family. Mine is little (so maybe they can’t come live with us! Just kidding) We’re hoping to stay in the farmhouse cottage until we can get a house built out there. When you get it finished I may come up and see it!!! (Nice picture of you – Tony likes to sneak around with the camera, too!)

Comments are closed.