Skip to content
March 13, 2010 / dcwisdom

The Incredible Woman

To one of the greatest women of all times…to one of the women who made my life possible…

My Grandmother Mary

Isn’t she lovely!  And every bit a lady.

I wanted to make this tribute in her honor before the final curtain falls.  She has always been an incredible inspiration to her two daughters, her eight grandchildren, her 32 great-grandchildren, and now her three great-great-grandchildren.  She has participated in life, never waivered in her beliefs, never faltered in her love, always believed in the best of humanity.  

My grandfather passed away in 1968.  Mary relied on her many friends through the years.  She continued to host parties and luncheons, and she and her girlfriends would go for lunch after Sunday services and talk about the old men who would try out come-on lines on them.  I don’t think my grandmother ever had a date in all her years of being a widow, but she sure had some lookers.

I remember when she was in her 90’s and still very mobile, she would say, “I have to go see all the old people in the nursing home.”  When she was 97, she drove to the DMV office, and they renewed her driver’s license for five more years!   I don’t know if she realized it, but she drove her 1977 Cadillac like a wild woman.

She lived in the house her father built with square nails, circa 1885, until 2006.  (Yes, I said 1885 and 2006 in the same sentence!)  She is a devoted Methodist and Democrat, having voted for every democratic president since Al Smith in 1928.  Her eyes have seen horse and buggy days, the first automobile and airplane flight, WWI, the Roaring 20’s, and The Great Depression, wars, Elvis, space flights, hippies, the rise and fall of hemlines and the Iron Curtain, prosperity, her favorite president, Bill Clinton, and the age of computers.

Now, her eyes are tired, and she keeps to her bed.  She is wanting her daughters close by.  She knows her days are numbered.

I have to go see her. 

12 Comments

  1. Gay Vaughan / Mar 15 2010 1:14 PM

    What a wonderful post! Any friend of Tara’s is certainly a friend of mine. Do you live near Tara? We have found that we live near each other but “met” by blogging! (still haven’t met in person yet) Love the blog!
    ~Gay~
    itsahodgepodgelife.blogspot.com

  2. Vickie / Mar 14 2010 6:46 PM

    Excellent post, Gib. Wow – 109. She has truly seen alot in her life! What a remarkable woman. She is more than twice as old as I am! I know you’re very proud of her. I pray the Lord will bless her with peace and comfort as she waits for Him…

  3. Deb / Mar 14 2010 3:22 PM

    what a great post…I like your new blog

  4. Miss A / Mar 14 2010 11:59 AM

    Awwww… precious post. I’m all teary-eyed. What a blessing to have such an awesome person in your life.

    Love the new blog look too!

    ~Miss A

  5. Jeanette / Mar 14 2010 7:48 AM

    Debbie,

    I’m definitely following you to your new blog site. I love the photo and story of your Grandma! She is so sweet looking in the pic. I’m still trying to figure out getting a page set up but will send link when I do so. :o)

  6. Jennifer / Mar 14 2010 7:15 AM

    What an amazing life! And, an apparently amazing lady. We recently lost our dear Marian, the last of her generation, being 97 years old. OH, the stories she had… She was only a cousin but I do miss her… Thank you for sharing your lovely Grandmother with us!

  7. Tara / Mar 14 2010 6:56 AM

    I LOVE IT! Love the name fo sho! You have done a marvelous job…of course, I knew you would.
    Such a wonderful tribute for your first post. Wonderful.
    Hugs,
    Tara

  8. Rayanne / Mar 14 2010 6:05 AM

    First, let me say I like your new bloggy home. Second, that’s such a sweet post. My husband and I are the same age (he’s 3 months older) and we are running a race to see us hit the 12o years old mark. It’s funny but I really do think honoring your folks has something to do with living long.
    Thanks for sharing your family with us!

  9. Stacey at Living by Faith / Mar 13 2010 6:28 PM

    What a wonderful lady! I can’t even fathom the stories she has to tell about all the changes she has seen. Inspiring strength and great faith! Definitely a great way to kickoff your new blog…which is beautiful by the way!

  10. Jan / Mar 13 2010 5:21 PM

    You are right…It’s a good one.

    What a wonderful story about an amazing woman. Next time you visit, give her an extra kiss and tell her it’s from a crazy woman in Pennsylvania.

  11. Nezzy / Mar 13 2010 5:17 PM

    Thanks for bringing the story of this remarkably sweet lady to us. What a sweetheart she is and you can really tell by the look on her face, she is a woman who has loved livin’ her many years.

    Yes, go see her, hug her tight. I only with this chick could give her grandmas one more hug. That will have to wait until that someday baby…someday!

    God bless and have a super Saturday, sweetie!!!

  12. Tanna / Mar 13 2010 4:54 PM

    Debbie, that IS a wonderful post. What a wonderful tribute to your grandmother. What a wonderful example she has been!

    I do have the Kirkland book… have not ready it yet. With your high recomendation, I will put it in the line up for this year!! I need to roam toward Caddo soon. =)

    You will have to do a post on your decision process to switch. Inquiring minds want to know.

    Enjoy your visit with your grandmom.

Comments are closed.