Skip to content
March 13, 2010 / dcwisdom

Missed Opportunities

Kid #4 Sam is coming home.  How I miss that young whipper-snapper! 

Sam has big plans this summer.  The school he attends sends missionaries abroad every summer, and his group has elected to go to Asia.  He’ll be going to four different countries – Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia, and Cambodia; yes, he’ll be traveling without his mama.  I cannot imagine the experiences and opportunities he will have.

Years ago, I had an opportunity to travel to Brazil.  I got my passport and then backed out at the last minute, afraid to leave my husband and daughter and my country.  How I have wished many times to have that opportunity back!

And in thinking about missed opportunities this morning, my mind settled on the daily opportunities I miss.  When I get all wrapped up in blogging or errands or television, I am missing those times to minister.  Of course, I need to blog.  Really?  Honestly, I choose to blog.  I need to run errands.  Well, I choose to run to Wal-Mart and pick out a new purse and pick up bath soap and toilet paper. 

And I need to turn off the tv.  I don’t normally have it on in the day, but in the evening, that monster blasts its spew all over my house.  In the 80’s, Rick and I participated in an experiment of watching tv program and rating them.  Then we tried going without tv for a month.  Wow!  It was awesome!  (Why didn’t I learn something from that…)

I am reading in Galatians this morning.  Chapter 6:9,10 says (The Message) “So let’s not allow ourselves to get fatigued in doing good.  At the right time we will harvest a good crop if we don’t give up, or quit.  Right now, therefore, every time we get the chance (opportunity), let us work for the benefit of all, starting with the people closest to us in the community of faith.”

So, I’m making my little list of opportunities to take on a daily basis:

Go ahead and be angry – You do well to be angry –
but don’t use your anger as fuel for revenge (meanness).
And don’t stay angry.  Don’t go to bed angry.
Don’t give the devil that kind of foothold in your life. 1
Let’s see how inventive we can be in
encouraginging love and helping out… 2
Guide slaves (I’m reading children here)
into being loyal workers, a bonus to their masters
–no back talk, no petty thievery. 
Then their good character will shine through their actions,
adding luster to the teaching of our Savior God. 3
Make a clean break with all cutting, backbiting, profane talk.
Be gentle with one another, sensitive.
Forgive one another as quickly and thoroughly as
God in Christ forgave you. 4
…dress in the wardrobe God picked out for you:
compassion, kindness, humility, quiet strength, discipline.
Be even-tempered, content with second place, quick to fogive an offense.
Forgive as quickly and completely as the Master forgave you.
And regardless of what else you put on, wear love.
It’s your basic, all-purpose garment.  Never be without it. 5
Five opportunites.   Daily opportunities and strong principles to build a good life on.   My kids have called me “perfect,” being sarcastic, of course.  I am FAR from perfect, as anyone that knows me well can testify, but I do know where my hope of reaching perfection is, and all I can do is strive toward that mark.  
There are certainly more opportunities I can take, but these will do for today.  Now, if I could just be convinced to stay out of Wal-Mart.
Y’all have a wonderful weekend.
5 Comments

  1. Jeanette / Mar 15 2010 9:50 AM

    Debbie,Will you still be posting pics on your new site? I always enjoy looking at the ones you put on your site – gettin good with the camera!

  2. Tara / Mar 13 2010 2:13 PM

    I'm so glad you blog too! Great post. Looks like you and I have been reading the same scriptures lately.Have a blessed weekend. Talk to you soon!Hugs,Tara

  3. Rayanne / Mar 13 2010 1:00 PM

    Again…I love to read your posts. I'm glad you blog! You are a sweet lovely lady who loves God!

  4. jerriann / Mar 13 2010 10:30 AM

    Awe, I hate it when I misspell something. So I was saying, "it's like taking a peek into your lives". Good Gravy.Also, didn't hit the caps on God. Hmm.

  5. jerriann / Mar 13 2010 10:25 AM

    Love this post. I love the pictures that are put together too. It's like a pick into your lives. Love the garment of god. So good.Have a blessed filled weekend.

Comments are closed.