Skip to content
February 23, 2010 / dcwisdom

Rear-ending

A few posts back, I wrote a small paragraph about Kid #4 Sam having a little accident on a Dallas freeway.

I am so very thankful that he was not hurt, but I don’t like that his ride is down for the count.  Rick and I drove to Dallas on Saturday to check on Sam and the car.  On our way to the U-Haul which is about three miles, maybe, from his school, he showed Rick and me where he catches the bus to go to his job at On the Border.  Just a simple corner stop with no weather shed.  The first day, he arrived late after waiting at another bus stop, only to wait for fifty minutes longer in the cold rain.  No umbrella.  No shed.  Just stood on the corner in the rain.  Waiting.
If you know anything about Dallas, you know that the Oak Cliff section of Dallas is sleazy, dangerous, loud.  If you are from Oak Cliff, dear reader, my apologies; you may have another perspective, but the one I know by reputation is not so great.  Just hangin’ thirty minutes in the U-Haul parking lot was scary.
That being said, Sam walks about a mile to catch the bus that goes downtown Dallas.  Rain, shine, sleet, or snow, Sam walks.  As a mother, it bothers me that he’s walking on a busy street in a rough neighborhood.  As a mother, I, too, know this will build much character in him, prayerfully without mishap.  As a mother, I also know this will be a story he will tell his children and grandchildren some day if the Lord tarries:  “Kids, I walked a whole mile, uphill both ways in a foot of snow everyday, to catch the bus to go to work and get back to the dorm.” 
I‘ve learned over the years to make my way past emotions of the stressful events in life.  Emotions are wonderful ways God enables us humans to feel life, but sometimes they get in the way of making practical and wise decisions.  After proper decisions are made, then I cry and feel the blessing of emotions. 
Remember when several of us talked earlier in the year about perspective?  Emotions get in the way of perspective.  To push away from emotional reactions, initially, requires great effort, but it gets easier with practice.  With some prior practice, my perspective today became this:  “Sam, what will we do now? PRAY! God knew this would happen; let’s just trust Him to do His provision. He already has an answer to this problem. Sam, while you are walking and riding the bus, pray. You never know ahead of time how God will use you on your route. I’ll be praying for you, son. I love you.”
I love the way The Message/Remix tells Jeremiah 29:11-14:  “I know what I am doing.  I have it all planned out – plans to take care of you, not abandon you, plans to give you the future you hope for.  When you call on Me, when you come and pray to Me, I’ll listen.  When you come looking for Me, you’ll find me.  Yes, when you get serious about finding Me and want it more than anything else, I’ll make sure you won’t be disappointed.”  God’s Decree.  “I’ll turn things around for you…You can count on it.”
I have to commit Sam into God’s hands, else I would rent a space in the dorm parking lot, live in the backseat of my 11-year-old Suburban, and be his own personal chauffeur.  Yeah, how cool would that be!  ‘Hey, somebody’s grandmother is out there.’
See you in the funny papers.
