Skip to content
February 9, 2010 / dcwisdom

Romance Me

The kissing booth always aroused mixed feelings.  While the proper woman would hurry her little children away or stroll in another direction, the line of giddy men formed, waiting to kiss the pretty, young girl pursing her lips for a price.  Is the kissing booth a thing of the past?  Has anyone seen a kissing booth lately?
My kids think 34 and I need a booth.  He is such a romantic, always has been.  I, on the other hand, am not.  He gives me mushy cards; I give him the funny ones.  He buys me perfume every Christmas (I love perfume); I buy him tools (he loves tools).  He loves to hold hands and kisses my neck; I pinch him on the butt.  He just grabs me and lays one on me.
Like this…
I love this picture.
Saturday night, he and I joined our Sunday School class members at Bryce’s Cafeteria in Texarkana for dinner.  Not a romantic place, a cafeteria.  After the meal as everyone was leaving, Joey ask me what Rick and I were going to do when we left.
I looked Joey square in the eyes and said, “We’re going parking.”
You should have seen his face.  Shock and awe.  Actually, we went to Home Depot and ordered a storm door.
But on Sunday, 34 and I went out to the renovation house, and with it being so cold, sat in the truck drinking our cappucchinos, our typical Sunday afternoon date, except that sometimes we sit outside.
This is how a romantic date would go:  We would be sitting in the truck.  I would say, “Wanna make out?”  He would burst out laughing.  Then we would hold hands, lean on each other, and, after a few rapturous moments of hand holding, I would hear:
*slow inhale – pssssssssssssss*
So much for making out.  Romance is so over-rated.
Just give me a little kiss and some chocolate, sweetheart.
I love you, honey!

See you in the funny papers. 

