Skip to content
February 4, 2010 / dcwisdom

Random Dozen and Sam

I’ve been looking at y’all’s crazy answers for so long that I just decided to throw mine in the mix.  Thanks to Linda at 2nd cup of coffee for the challenge.  Hey, Linda…who was your English teacher?

1. Do you use the labels various charities send you as “free gifts?”

I haven’t bought mailing labels in years!  Thanks to all you good folks out there who send ‘free’ labels.  Can’t say I reciprocate with a contribution, though.

2. What is your favorite time of day (or night) for skywatching?

I love the clear, bright night skies especially.  Good for a nice walk and star gazing.

3. What is the most adventurous you’ve ever been with trying a new food? (Keep it G-rated please)

When I was in high school, I had a choir director that liked to barbeque wild game.  He was a great hunter and would catch and cook anything –  possums, skunks, snakes, rabbits – and then he would invite everyone to try his offerings.  His wife would make a pot of beans.  Great memory.  (Sometimes the meats were not so great.)

4. Have you ever heard a rock sing? (Trust me, there’s a reason for this one!)


I’ve heard rock-n-roll and rock stars.  A rock sing?  I don’t think I’ve ever listened to a rock.  Think I’ll go find me a good rock today.  I’ll let you know.

5. If you could learn a language you don’t presently speak, what would it be?

Took Spanish in my early years but have lost a lot, too, just from not using it.  Would like to speak French and go to France.  I’ve heard they are really snobby unless you can speak French.

6. Al Capone’s tombstone read, “My Jesus, Mercy.” If you could write your own epitaph, what would it say?


“This world is not my home; I’m just a’passin’ through…”

7. If you were a famous musician who was known by one name, like “Cher,” “Sting,” or “Jewel,” what would it be? It doesn’t have to be your first name, but it can be, if you’d like.


After I married, my nickname at my job places was “Ms. Wiz.”  Some funnybone called me “Whiz.”   Maybe just “Wiz.”

8. Have you ever been inordinately “into” a television show?

The last good show I was “into” was Dallas.  That dates me, huh?!  Husband likes 24, but I currently like White Collar just because the men are so dang good-looking.  Dancing With the Stars is pretty good.

9. When you sneeze, do you go big, or do you do that weird “heenh!” sound that makes people think you’re going to blow your brains out? Any other variation we should know about?

When I sneeze (or cough), it ain’t purdy!  Definitely have the legs crossed.  It’s embarrassing in public.

10. Do you still read an actual newspaper that you hold in your hands, or do you get your news elsewhere?


I still enjoy a good newspaper, but I normally watch FOX news for information.  Periodically, I’ll look at the internet.

11. Are you a good speller?


My mom and I are spellers and always look for spellling errers.  Reely, we do.  It’s our game.

12. At what time each day do you start thinking about Lost lunch?

I don’t really think about lunch so much as dinner.  Since I don’t particularly like to cook, it’s a chore that I do because I have to, even though I am a good cook.  So, I start thinking about something to cook around 5 p.m.  But, I’ve never seen Lost.  Is it any good?
 

*************
 
Please keep my kid#4 Sam in your prayers.  He had an accident on a Dallas freeway last night that totalled his car.  He’s fine, thank the Lord; those angels were doing their jobs, but he’ll have to resort to the bus system for a while.  If you are in the Dallas area, he works at the original On the Border on Henderson/Knox (north of downtown), so stop in for a meal and leave a large tip!  Thanks.
 
See you in the funny papers.
 

