Skip to content
January 6, 2010 / dcwisdom

Proud of Our Defenders

God bless our troops!

conversation overheard on the VHF Guard (emergency) frequency 121.5 MHz while flying from Europe to Dubai.

The conversation went like this…

Iranian Air Defense Radar: ‘Unknown aircraft you are in Iranian airspace. Identify yourself.’

Aircraft: ‘This is a United States aircraft. I am in Iraqi airspace.’

Air Defense Radar: ‘You are in Iranian airspace. If you do not depart our airspace we will launch interceptor aircraft!’

Aircraft: ‘This is a United States Marine Corps FA-18 fighter. Send ’em up, I’ll wait!’

Air Defense Radar: (no response …. total silence)

God bless our troops.

Every month, I write a check to the IRS.  In the ‘For_____’ section, I write, “Use for bullets, bombs, and missiles.”  Yes, I actually tell them where to put my hard-earned funds, and that’s where my taxes go.  How do I know that?  Because I tell them where to use my money.  Don’t tell me otherwise.  I, in my mind, believe I am actually supporting the military with my money.  I even tell my soldier friends about me sending them money each month.  

Call me crazy.

If you write an IRS check, tell them where to put it, or else it goes to support things like how to eliminate hog smells from hog farms or protecting the fire ant or rebuilding the boardwalk in Atlantic City.

On my little insert I send with my check, I even write nice notes on them like ‘Screw Geithner!’  or ‘I’m mad as hell, and I’m not going to take it anymore!’  or ‘Tea Gag Congress!’  (Or maybe I should say ‘Waterboard Congress!’ ha)  Just my little way of showing my displeasure.

Yes, I love Jesus, but sometimes I just have to say these things.  It’s still a free country. 
Sort of.

See you in the funny papers.

