Skip to content
January 5, 2010 / dcwisdom

Stop This!

STOP IT!  My mind is screaming at me.

Have you ever had one of those mornings when you have a pile of things to do and you find yourself sitting comfortably at the big screen in front of you, typing away, daydreaming, dozing, looking out the window, singing with the radio…and the time is passing…and you
just don’t care?

Instead of paying bills and balancing the checkbook.  Instead of keeping the washing machine and dryer going.  Instead of making the phone calls. 

Ok.  Really.  I have to stop this and get moving.  But before I do, since I’ve been checking around the blogs, I’ll share another part of my life with you.

Books.  And lots of them.
This cabinet is a furniture piece from my 108 year-old Grandmother.  I do not know how old the cabinet is, but I remember the cabinet sitting in her 1880’s house her father built in Paris, Texas, containing antique china and stemware, Fostoria, Waterford crystal bowls, and the like.  Presently, it houses a few books of my library.
Before I was in my early twenties, I didn’t read much.  Books I remember reading in my teens:  The Exorcist, Nancy Drew, or whatever was required in school.  That’s about it.  I really don’t know when my reading/book fettish began.
Now, I not only have plenty of books in my house, but also they are stashed in boxes in 34’s shop, much to his chagrin.
The picture above is a 1975 picture of 34 and myself with our grandparents at our wedding reception.  Weren’t we the cutest couple?  34 had some major hair that was cut before the ceremony, and I was OH SO SKINNY!
Nevertheless, my reading interests are wide.  
Most of what I read is Christian oriented.  The book In the Shadow of the Sun King was written by Golden Keyes Parsons, a long time friend of mine.   Google her.  It’s the first book she’s written, and I have yet to obtain the next two.  I am thinking that most of you would enjoy her books.
My poetry selections include local authors, but I enjoy Shel Silverstein’s talent.  I have collections of G.A. Henty, Landmark books, atlases, reference books, subject books from over 21 years of home schooling.  Books, books, books.  You’d think I’d be smarter.
Don’t you like the little pull toy?
One of my renovation house projects is library space for all these lovelies.
Ok.  I’m off.  See you in the funny papers.
