Skip to content
January 2, 2010 / dcwisdom

The Thinker

The Thinker
What am I thinking about for 2010?
30 Things To Do Before I Turn 40 A Higher Number
Resolutions I Know I Won’t Keep
I’ve Already Checked Off Three Things Today
By Next Week I Will Have Forgotten Everything
It’s January 1stHelp Me
I Chunked My List Yesterday
THINK!
“A student at Eagle Rock Junior High won first prize at the Greater Idaho Falls Science Fair, April 26. He was attempting to show how conditioned we have become to alarmists practicing junk science and spreading fear of everything in our environment. In his project he urged people to sign a petition demanding strict control or total elimination of the chemical “dihydrogen monoxide.”




And for plenty of good reasons, since:


1. it can cause excessive sweating and vomiting


2. it is a major component in acid rain


3. it can cause severe burns in its gaseous state


4. accidental inhalation can kill you


5. it contributes to erosion


6. it decreases effectiveness of automobile brakes


7. it has been found in tumors of terminal cancer patients


He asked 50 people if they supported a ban of the chemical.


Forty-three (43) said yes, six (6) were undecided, and only one (1) knew that the chemical was water.


The title of his prize winning project was, “How Gullible Are We?”


He feels the conclusion is obvious.”

Life happened fast.   Can you tell me where 2009 went?   How about the last 20 years?   Life’s had me by the tail, and I’ve ridden the wind. 
I want to slow down and think.  Think about the important things.  Purposeful things.  I want to act on them, not just to accomplish a list and say, “This is what I’ve done,” but to find the deeper purpose of activity and thought. 
I don’t want to be gullible, swayed with flowery speech, mesmerized by iconoclasts, or influenced by fallacious ideologues.
I should think, believe, ponder, reason, imagine for myself.  God help me.  Before it’s too late.  Before another lifetime passes by. 
Before 2011.  Now, where’s that list…
But, I’ll still see you in the funny papers!  🙂
