Skip to content
December 29, 2009 / dcwisdom

Aggie Quilts

The old Aggie joke goes like this:  A lucky Aggie won a whopping $20,000,000 and went to pick up all his money.  When he got there, the guy in charge of the money said it would be paid to him over a twenty year period.  The Aggie got mad and yelled, “If you’re not going to give me all my money, then I want my dollar back!”

No offense to Aggies out there; heck, I are one!  Well, I consider myself one since I received my PhT degree from Texas A&M at College Station.  (That’s PhT for ‘putting hubby through’, and only his senior year at that.)  I never actually attended there, although I was enrolled before 34 and I moved for his first job after college graduation.  I did work at the O&M building (oceanography/meteorology department) as a little 19 year old “secretary.”  Aggie by osmosis.  That’s my claim.

Nevertheless, our ties with TAMU remain strong:  34’s brother and my three brothers-in-law are graduates; my niece Jamie and our Kid #3 attend A&M.  Numerous other relatives and friends are Aggies.  Proud tradition.  There is absolutely nothing that compares to Aggie tradition and spirit.  Nothing.

Two lovely ladies contacted me back in November about making Aggie T-shirt quilts for their daughters for Christmas gifts.  So, while my computer was in China getting a new motherboard, I was sewing like a mad woman getting these beautiful Aggie quilts ready for some lucky girls to snuggle under on these frosty winter nights.

I especially like the Longhorn square with the scripture:  “I will cut off the horns of all the wicked.”  Psalm 75:10
No offense to Longhorn fans, either.  My brother’s a Longhorn.  Traitor.  What do Longhorns call Aggies?  Boss.
Gig ‘Em!
