Skip to content
December 15, 2009 / dcwisdom

Monday List and When Is Old Old?

Hello, Friends.

As has been my short history in Blogworld, my intention was to keep to some sort of scheduled postings.   There are some people that appreciate that kind of order, such as I.  To me, it’s akin to a preacher’s sermon; without a fairly definite outline to follow, I’m kind of lost  and can’t get my mind to follow ramblings too well.

However, with my ADHD problem, I’m weary of my Monday List, and maybe you are, too.  I will not stop keeping my lists; I haven’t flipped my lid.  But, with a busy household, things keep changing on me all the time, and my stupid list ends up in next week, and the next, and the next…   blah-b-blah-b-blah-b-blah…

My right knee has been hurting this weekend into today.  I’ve been hobbling around like an old lady.  This morning, Kid #5 and I drove to the mall to do some Christmas shopping.  We were in a little shop that had an ear piercing stool.  I asked the clerk, who was about my age, if I could just sit on the stool while Mary shopped.

As I was sitting there, she and I struck up a conversation.  I thanked her for letting me sit on the stool and told her my knee had been hurting.  So she said, “My grandmother used to spray WD-40 on her joints when they would hurt, and they would stop throbbing.”   Really?  I’ll have to try that, I told her.

By the time I got home, I’d forgotten about the WD-40, even though my knee was still talking to me.  As I entered the house, my storm door let out a terrible screeeeeech, and I remembered the WD-40.  So I sprayed the door’s hinges and went directly to the bathroom and sprayed my knee, rubbing it in real good.  Guess what happened?  Yep.  You know it.  Gosh, I really felt old.  Later, I’m going to spray my elbow.

So, how old is old?  Let me tell you.  Do you remember several postings ago talking about my Grandmother?  She is 108, born in 1901.  Today, she was admitted into the hospital with complications of congestive heart failure.  God bless her.  I think 108 is old.  She told my mother and aunt, “I won’t live forever.” 

Grandmother, you’ve already lived forever.  No need to up and die now.  Just think.  You saw the Wright brothers’ first flight; you remember the horse and buggy days and had one of the first Studebakers; WWI and the Russian Revolution; women’s liberation and voting for Al Smith in 1928; the depression; WWII; the swingin’ 50’s and Elvis; and you can remember the rest.  You might as well wait until Jesus comes now.

My mother-in-law was here over the weekend.  She and I just so happened to have a similar conversation.  Maybe we were talking about my knee.  I can’t remember.  But, she said, “I don’t feel old in my mind, only in my body.”  So, are you really old if you’re of a sound mind?  What if the mind goes but the body is still spry?

When is old old?

Whenever that is, I’m trying to hold it off with WD-40.

See you in the funny papers.

