Skip to content
December 9, 2009 / dcwisdom

Story at the Christmas Tree Farm

Aren’t people entertaining?  Look at this guy.
Chevy Chase is one of my knee-slappers.
He and Don Knotts and Tim Conway.
WHAT CHARACTERS!

Do you recognize Chevy Chase as Clark Griswold in “National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation?”  That movie is 34’s favorite Christmas movie to watch.  It doesn’t matter what’s on the telly; if the movie shows up on the screen, the channel switcher’s finger automatically turns the channel.  No questions.  No fuss.  Period.

Well, speaking of characters, one day this woman drives up to our farm, gets out of her car, walks around the trees, selects one, and comes into the building to pay for it.  The tag on the tree read $36.00.  When the cashier rang it up, the price plus tax came to $38.25.

Immediately, the woman lashed out at our little cashier.  “That’s highway robbery!  Who in the world’s gonna pay tax on a Christmas tree?  That’s ridiculous!  Let me talk to the manager!”

The cashier finds me, and the customer is cussing that she has to pay tax on a Christmas tree.  I explained to her that we have to pay state sales tax, and therefore, we charge tax on the trees.  She continued her tirade to me.

I thought a second and said, “Well, I’ll tell you what.  I won’t charge you tax on the tree but you’ll need to pay $5.00 for handling and bundling.”  Thinking that would ilicit an outrageous response.

She looked at me and said, “Yeah, that’s fine.  But I’m not paying *#@$ tax on a stupid tree.” 

So she paid me $41.00.  Oh my gosh.  People are so outrageously funny!  And they drive and vote and probably reproduce.  Just had to throw that it!  🙂

See you in the funny papers.

