Skip to content
November 10, 2009 / dcwisdom

Memory Lake

Today, Kid #5 and I went to the lake on this 50 acre property to select a place for COMMANDO command station on Thursday.  We went thinking “COMMANDO,” and I left thinking “Dad.”

My dad passed away June 30.  I haven’t been able to write about him, but I think it’s time.  Tears are pooled in my eyes and memories are flooding my mind about this one special place that Dad loved.  I’m fittingly calling it “Memory Lake.”

My kids were raised here on this place.  Little girls and boys learned to fish in these waters with the best teacher and fisherman in the world, my dad.  Expensive rods and reels, donated by my children, are nestled in the lake bottom’s sand and weed.  Skinnydippers have raced across the lake and back.  The old boat’s oars have been lost, found, and lost again.  Picnickers and young lovers know these waters well.  Dad loved it best.  So many stories.  Years of beautiful memories.
A solitary place to sing, ponder, meditate, or just be.
Dad, I love you.  I miss you.  Jesus, say hello to Dad for me.  I’ll meet him there someday.
