Skip to content
October 29, 2009 / dcwisdom

Garden Ramblings

Oh, I’m having deep thoughts running through my brain today. Words like ‘pollinators’ and ‘Liriodendron Tulipifera’ and ‘mollusks.’ Words like that. Except that I’m just a common folk, and these words don’t normally conform to my everyday thoughts and vocabulary. But, you master gardeners will recognize these scientific terms, no doubt.

Honestly, I’ve never been any kind of gardener until the last few years. 34 has always been the one to plant umpteen trees like pecan, oak, sweet gum, fruit, dogwood, Japanese maple, and the like. When we moved to this corner of the world in 1988, he planted 2,000 Virginia pine trees which jump started our family’s Christmas tree farm business. One year, he planted two acres of purple hull peas and has been known to plant an over-abundance of vegetables, some to keep and some to share. Just like his dad.

So, since I’ve only just begun my romance with the plant world (Hey, give me a break – I’ve been growing kids!), I’ve honed in on my favorites: herbs and butterfly gardening. The only rose bush I can nicely grow is the shrub rose, so I’ll probably stick with those, but just send me native plant shrubs and herbs and flowers, and I’ll be happy.

However, I do like to read about new ideas and ran across a good newspaper article. Knowing how to couple plants with beneficial companions can extend the life of the plant and help it produce prolifically, apparently. Here are some combinations I thought were good:

  • basil with tomatoes, peppers, or eggplants
  • mint with cucumbers
  • squash with onions, borage, catnip, tansy, or radishes
  • cabbage, kale, collards, broccoli, Brussels sprouts with rosemary, onions, garlic, or dill

And, always keep the silly, fake doe doe bird with the wood ferns.

So, my thoughts today turn toward winter gardening, especially since it’s a gorgeous, rare day of sunshine here in the piney woods of Northeast Texas. If you’d like to contribute any gardening ideas to my rambling mind, I’m open.

See you in the funny papers.

