Skip to content
October 27, 2009 / dcwisdom

Monday List

Happy Rainy Chilly Day!

I think I’ve told you before that I love Mondays! Don’t know why. Just always have. It must be one of those mental things, like loving brussel sprouts or liver and onions or hogshead cheese, perhaps. There’s a Post-It note on my boys’ bathroom mirror attributed to Norman Vincent Peale that says, “Change your thoughts, and you change your world.” I like that.

With most of my work done, I’m changing my gears to finish a project today and start others.

The first and foremost project to complete is the denim quilt. This was a collection of jeans which were cut into twelve inch squares and sewn using the quick brick pattern onto a black and white hounds tooth backing.

Big tip for you: Having a heavy duty machine or a machine specifically manufactured for sewing denim is very important. Since denim is a very heavy cotton, it requires the heavier machine, larger needle, and heavy duty thread.

The finished project is attractive but heavy. This quilt is personal, cherished, and warm.


Last year, 34 and I were walking through a large department store and passed a charming display of these cuties:
These throws were mass produced and marketed and were relatively inexpensive, but I’m going to make my own version. I’ll be shopping for fabrics this week. Maybe I’ll make a few for gifts…

Another project this week is to putty the big bedroom’s walls. With adult children moving on, it’s time for repainting and updating some rooms before holiday rush. Sure should have done this before November, but that’s the way it goes.

This week’s list: turn off the television, shop for fabric, putty walls, work on Christmas quartet, memorize Psalm 146:6-10 (didn’t finish it last week), read a chapter of War and Peace each day, and prepare for Fall Festival on Saturday.

Should be a busy week. Tomorrow: Part III of “I’ve Got to Lose Weight” saga.

See you in the funny papers.

