Skip to content
October 9, 2009 / dcwisdom

Max Taylor Continued

The letter below is a response from the post about Max Taylor from Max Taylor. He’s one of the greatest people I’ve ever known. I want you to grasp and appreciate what a heritage we have in men and women like Max who, because of their experiences, sacrifices, and maturity, can impart and interpret what true patiotism is.

Since I have not asked Max’s permission to copy this, I will delete one paragraph. Max, hope you don’t mind.

“Debbie,

You are a winner if I have ever known one. What an honor to have two chairs named for me.
Most of your resume about me was correct and i appreciate being honored by you.

I had a half tour in Vietnam as a Marine Corps Staff Sergeant. At one point I got out of the Marines and lasted all of six months as a professional Boy Scout District Executive. The Marine Corps gave me a hard time about going back in with my previous rank, so I reluctantly went into the Army as a Staff Sergeant.

After all of 14 months in the Army, I got a direct commission to First Lieutenant. One year later I was promoted to Captain. I went to Vietnam as a Captain and spent one year there. It was a tough, life-changing year for me. I still have not gotten over it.

I never really understood what a blog was until I read yours. That is really neat. I think you are the greatest, Debbie.

Max”

Max, I can’t thank you enough for your service to America and your friendship. And, welcome to blogworld. At 76, you should start your own. You have great stories to tell.

See you in the funny papers.

