Skip to content
September 29, 2009 / dcwisdom

Always Time For Chocolate

If you would ask my kid #5 the three things she loves most in the world, her answer would be chicken, cheese, and chocolate, not necessarily in that order and depending on her day. 34 would add to her list ‘Cowboys,’ as in Dallas.

Around here, our chocolate comes in many forms: Those yummy Slim-Fast shakes, candy bars, chocolate pies, rocky road ice cream…the usual ways. When the kids were small, we would ‘play’ a silly game which evolved over the years to ‘Find the Chocolate.’ (I blame my wonderful in-laws for this.) I would hide bags of candy all over the house to keep the kiddos from gorging themselves. One year, I put the whole stash in a zip-lock bag and slid it between my mattress and box springs. And one day, while having the kids change the sheets on all the beds, someone found it. I much later discovered it myself – a zipped-up zip-lock bag with empty candy wrappers under the mattress. They all fessed up and laughed at me. I’m telling you, not even my underwear drawer is safe from nosy little imps.

Eons ago BC (before children), I became the favored recipient of a ‘secret’ recipe from my boss’s wife, Mrs. Kenneth Brundidge. (Dr. Brundidge was head of the Meteorology Department at Texas A&M University in College Station back in the mid-1970’s. He and I also shared the same birthday.) I begged for this hot chocolate recipe, and I’m now letting the cat out of the bag. (I could make millions!)
As you can see, we’ve tried many jars, cans, and packets of all kinds of hot chocolate mix, all good, but I always return to my favorite:

The Ultimate in Hot Chocolate
1-11 oz. jar of good coffee creamer
1-8 qt. box powdered milk
1-16 oz. can of Nestle’s Quik (or other brand of mix)
1-1/2 cups powdered sugar
1 c. granulated sugar
3 tsp. cinnamon
Sift together three times. Store in a tight container.
Use 1/3 to 1/2 cup (+/-) mix per 1 cup boiling water.
The drink is rich and creamy and makes a great homemade gift for teachers, the office party, the boss, acquaintances, and whoever is lucky enough to get some. Fill a thermos for those chilly football games this fall.
My willow tree has bag worms, so I’m off to Tractor Supply this morning. See you in the funny papers!
