Skip to content
September 25, 2009 / dcwisdom

Fall 2009 Renovations

See this?

This is my livingroom. My whole house looks like this — yep — every room. You and I are about to embark on a fun-filled, thrilling renovation adventure of my entire house. Aren’t you excited…
34 and I bought this two-story little jewel sitting on ten acres (I hate to say it) 6+ years ago. Believe me. I’ve had people BEG me to borrow MORE money to finish it, but I just can’t do it. So, here we are. Paying as we go.

We had planned to gut and reappoint the kitchen and 3 baths (one down and two up) quickly and move in. Upon tearing out the rotten flooring under the kitchen sink and the toilet stained ceiling in the kitchen (gag), we found the PVC not even glued together! So we tore out more…and more…and more…

The wallboard was not so bad, we thought. IT STUNK! Literally. Apparently, a cat or dog or something had shared space. Phew! A spur-of-the-moment decision: The kids and I pulled off 1500 square feet of sheetrock, threw it all out the windows, and had more fun that day!

New discovery! The wiring was bad. No junction boxes. No electrical tape used. I’m afraid to say “fire!”

Needless to say, all wiring and plumbing have been replaced, except for the master bathroom tub. That’s our next project. I’ll have pictures.

In the meantime, we tore off the cheap exterior siding and replaced it with HardiePlank Lap Siding (http://www.jameshardie.com/). Ain’t it purdy? Can you see all my stuff there – hat, camera case, cell phone, water jug, sweaty scarf… You can’t see it in this picture, but our five porch posts are in need and in the process of being repainted. Pictures later.

We added another 500 square feet, where all the Dallas Cowboy and Texas Ranger games will be viewed (and I can shut the door), a half-bath, and a large walk-in closet. The pink stuff will be re-purposed for sound-proofing and installed by 34 and myself. I love 34.

But, this weekend, we are going to a neighboring city where my grown kids are fighting over the rent house and who’s getting which bedroom and furniture and blahblahblah… That’s another project for another day for another blog.
See you in the funny papers! See the pretty bird?
