Skip to content
June 20, 2012 / dcwisdom

A Day on the Road

We didn’t go far.  We traveled just far enough to have a good time.

For the  past four years, I tried periodically to keep you posted on the renovation of The Oldest Working Court House in Texas.  The scaffolding disappeared, the contractors’ trucks and workers left, and all is peaceful at the Cass County Court House.  The exterior renovation is beautiful.  I cannot wait to see the interior.

Our family reunion (Jack’s family) is coming up in July.  This year is the 103rd assembly of our family.  Our traditional gathering is at Daingerfield State Park - hilly, tall pines, wooded, and gorgeous water with camp sites, canoe/kayak/paddle boat rentals, fishing, swimming, and hiking trails.  If you’re looking for affordable tent or RV camping, I recommend this state park.   Be sure to let me know when you come, and I will join you for dinner.   I’ll bring my appetite.  :) 

I’m plugging along in summer school.  To graduate, I lack three core classes – speech, music appreciation, and college algebra.  Instead of meeting a class, I enrolled in an online speech class.  Can you believe it?  Speech online.  Listen, for you who need encouragement to finish your college course work, I’m here to tell you it’s easier than you think.  There are many ways to take classes now, and the process is not at all like the old schedule of M-W-F/T-Th class meetings.  It’s actually enjoyable.  I plan to knock out these nine hours by August, which will leave me with twelve hours to finish.  I would like to finish in December, but I don’t want to pay that much tuition in one semester.  My plan is to split the twelve hours into two six-hour semesters.  I will graduate next May at 56-years-old.

I went to check on Brown Betty at the Renovation House.   My wildflower garden is in full bloom and makes me want to expand the size.  Thank the Lord, we had a few rain showers recently, and it’s time to mow and weed again.  Rick and I are close to finishing our projects, and it soon will be time for contracting work.  Last weekend, we decided to put a stained bead board ceiling in two areas of the house.  As I’ve shared with you, Rick is a Victorian Era man, and I’m more of an eclectic/French country woman.  What a combination, and compromising is a bear, but I think the ceiling idea is a winner!

When I arrived home this evening, this beautiful painting was in the southeastern sky.  The rainbow was faintly visible and only in the clouds.

Peace and love.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God bless Israel.  God help America.

10 Comments

  1. Author Thelma Cunningham / Jun 25 2012 12:19 AM

    I have nominated you for the Reader Appreciation Award. Place picture on your site. Select six others to award.

    Thanks!

  2. debsladybugtexas / Jun 20 2012 7:36 PM

    My hubby lived in Dangerfield for a couple of years when he was a kid…the state park is cool…so proud of you for finishing your degree that is awesome…

    • dcwisdom / Jun 21 2012 9:07 AM

      I’m very excited to finish what I started 38 years ago. Thanks, Deb.

  3. Vickie / Jun 20 2012 10:16 AM

    So proud of you, my dear friend. Graduating college at 56 is a thing to be proud of! Speech on line – wonder how that works. Your wildflowers are beautiful. I’ve had purple coneflowers, too, but can’t seem the find the right spot for them. I think they are probably not getting enough sun. Need to move them… June has sped by at lightening speed – only time I have to blog or write is at work! ha! I was sure hoping we could get together sometime …

    Beautiful sunset…

    • dcwisdom / Jun 20 2012 10:54 AM

      Yes, coneflowers need full sun. Where has time gone? It’s almost the middle of summer, and I still have to CLEP algebra! Arrrrggghhh!

    • dcwisdom / Jun 21 2012 9:12 AM

      I’ve missed you! Cone flowers in full sun, yes, and I know you have the spot for them. How’s your garden growing?

  4. tanna / Jun 20 2012 6:13 AM

    Speech online. Who’da thunk it? I am so proud of your persistence in finishing your degree. Kudos to you, Debbie. blessings ~ tanna

    • dcwisdom / Jun 21 2012 9:14 AM

      Yep, and music appreciation is online, too. Thank you, Tanna.

  5. jmgoyder / Jun 20 2012 1:09 AM

    Onya!

    • dcwisdom / Jun 21 2012 9:14 AM

      Oh yeah! :)

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers