Skip to content
May 25, 2011 / dcwisdom

Blue Potatoes, Brain Freeze, and Happy Birthday, Rich!

And three weeks later, I’m back.  Whew!  Howdy, Friends! …if anybody’s still out there…  :) 

TODAY (yesterday actually) is Kid#2 Rich’s 25th birthday!  Happy Birthday, son.  I love you!  He and his lovely wife bought their first house two weeks ago.  Rick and I moved them on Mother’s Day, the best Mother’s Day I’ve ever had.  If you believe that houses can look like the owners, they can, and it does. 

I know you are as busy as I am.  The last time I wrote you, I was coming upon my first college final in 28 years, and I actually got through it without throwing up.  It helped to have 15 other people just like me in the class taking the final.  The youngest was maybe 35, too young to be an AARP member and who can’t relate to senior moments and brain freeze.  My required portfolio has produced this brain freeze in me; truly, my brain just stopped producing, and I’m fighting it!  Just go, brain.  I have until June 3 to submit it, but I’m shooting for Friday.

Kid #4 Sam and Emily are marrying June 4.  The little couple is so excited.  Sam is working while here, moving furniture from the old middle school to the new.  I’m thankful he found a temporary job for this short time.  Emily is working out the details of the ceremony, ironing table cloths, making pew markers, gathering vases, etc.  It will be a beautiful wedding and reception.

Several weeks ago, Rick planted Adirondack Blue potatoes in the garden.  Today, I harvested a few.

If you can call a potato beautiful, aren’t they beautiful?!  I boiled these until tender, and the taste was very mild.  The texture was more firm than russets or Yukon Golds, but I may have pulled them too early.  Don’t they make a colorful plate?

Can’t wait for the tomatoes!

God bless the folks in Joplin and Oklahoma.  I’ve had the telly on all day watching the progression of the storms and praying for all those affected.  The stories coming out of Joplin are so sad.  Praying for those waiting to be found in the rubble.

The storms are moving in now.

I’ve signed up to work on his presidential campaign.  Netanyahu for President!  I love him.  God bless Israel.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God help America.

3 Comments

  1. Deborah Pucci / May 25 2011 8:27 PM

    Well you have been busy! Happy Birthday to you son Rich. (yesterday)
    Congratulations on the upcoming wedding. It sounds like it will be perfect. Can’t wait to see pictures. Have never seen a blue potato, so different.
    Keeping Joplin in my thoughts and prayers.

  2. jeanette / May 25 2011 3:46 PM

    I too am looking forward to the summer tomatoes and I agree that the blues look pretty on a plate. Happy B-day to Rich and many congrats to Sam and his soon-to-be-bride. You are a smart cookie, Debbie, so I’m not surprised you’re making the grade (pun intended). ;0)

  3. Vickie / May 25 2011 11:17 AM

    Cute… Hope you’re getting your papers all done for your portfolio.

    Happy Birthday to Rick! We helped Josh and Lindsey move from her duplex this past weekend, too. AND helped clean. WHat we do for our kids – but doesn’t it just give us great JOY to be able to help and feel NEEDED! I love it!

    I love those blue potatoes – altho they look purple to me. I’m gonna have to try some of those – makes a colorful plate! Does it mean that we can eat those purple ones when you’re on a diet that says don’t eat anything “white”???

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers