Skip to content
April 4, 2011 / dcwisdom

The Rising Costs of…Everything

Is anyone concerned about the rising costs of health care?   The rising costs of EVERYTHING?  I am not an advocate of socialized medicine.  It’s the last thing I want for our country.  Just one more step toward having Mr. Imposterama as a dictator, which is what he wants to be, in my opinion.  Kinda like that Gaddafi guy in Libya.  I saw today that he launched his $1,000,000,000.00  (that’s one billion dollars!) presidential campaign.  Gaaaahhhhh!!!   And just for the record:  I’m not voting for him!  

Two family members went to the doctor’s office in the last four days.  (This is NOT a riddle.)  The one that went today came home with a bill of $149.  For an office visit.  He went to Wally World for his prescriptions which totaled $130+.  Since when does cough syrup ring up at $125?  Can somebody tell me?  What are they putting in cough syrup?  Gasoline?

Rick goes to the grocery store for one item.  In the line before him is a “minority” couple who bought a basket load of junk food:  Little Debby’s, chips, Cokes, etc.  About $40 of junk food.  She pulls out the Lone Star card to pay, and her companion asks, “Does that card have enough on it to pay for that?”  She yells for everybody to hear, “This blanketyblank card SHOULD have $875 on it!  It better have enough to pay for this blankblankblank!”  I don’t know about you, but I’ve never had $875 in my monthly budget to spend on food.  Ever. 

So, I’m thinking that I’ll write somebody in my Texas congress, and tell them what they should do with my tax dollars.  I’m going to recommend that they cut the monthly Lone Star card  to, say, $500 a month, and the card will only buy things like milk, eggs, flour, sugar, potatoes, fresh vegetables and fruit, hamburger meat and chicken, and bread.  Give the card to people who REALLY qualify for help, like the disabled and the elderly, and no cards to illegals.  Anybody else wanting a free handout gets to pick up trash on our highways for minimum wage.  Make them earn their way in life like the rest of us.

Any other ideas?

Maybe the taxpayers should run the government; WHAT A NOVEL IDEA! 

Just sayin’.

12 Comments

  1. Deborah Pucci / Apr 6 2011 8:13 PM

    Don’t get me started. Our daughter, who lives with us along with her husband, does not have insurance but has medical issues. We paid $960. for blood work a few weeks ago. Her medication is $210. a month. Now they want to do a $500. test. They make too much money to get on any government plan. I’m sick of it! Even if we had a government insurance plan they still can’t afford it. Because of her mental issues she really isn’t able to handle a full time job but she needs to get one. We are tired of paying for this stuff yet we do because she is our daughter and we love her.

  2. Patty / Apr 6 2011 12:33 AM

    I limit myself to say $90. a week for the 3 adults who live in this house. Have you had to buy any new appliances lately. Just 3 yrs. ago my dad paid maybe $350. for a Maytag dryer at a local appliance store (mom and pop)…now Sears wants over $650. for a dryer. And the used ones at our local store (in Lafayette) is well over $200. Just to have the guy come look at my dryer is going to cost me $83. without fixing it or parts. Just saying! So, it’s not only groceries and gas going up. Just glad I bought underwear in Dec. when I did. LOL!

  3. rayanne / Apr 5 2011 9:23 PM

    Stopped by to say Howdy! Are you going to be off for the summer? How’s your Mom feeling these days!
    Good post, needs to be said!

  4. Stacey at Living by Faith / Apr 5 2011 8:34 AM

    $875!!!! That’s more than we have to spend on two months worth of groceries!

  5. Linda Sue / Apr 5 2011 7:32 AM

    Laughing at myself – for nothing to say I sure said a buncha words!

  6. Linda Sue / Apr 5 2011 7:31 AM

    almost nothing to say – I continue to pray for God’s will and have a sneaking suspicion we are being humbled as a country for our refusal to live in a responsible manner. Yes everything costs ridiculous amounts – only this year has DH gotten medicare coverage – before that we were self pay – and let me tell you – paying up front costs $XX but when we see what Medicare gets billed for exact same doctors and services – oh my goodness $XXXXX ! Those who need help buying food and basic services should definitely receive it – sad part is the church used to be a huge safety net for people – now even churches seem to allow “the guvmint” to supervise feeding the widows, orphans and those in need. Enough of my rant – as I said – trust, obey and PRAY!

    • Patty / Apr 7 2011 12:34 AM

      I will say Amen to that Linda…the people who need it are the ones who don’t get the help.

  7. Deb / Apr 5 2011 6:58 AM

    I hear what your saying girl…it makes me so mad how our tax money is being wasted….why would a incombent President need to spend so much to get re-elected???because he is doing a terrible job…and is trying to buy back votes from the people he has totally s%$^)_….shame on them if they fall for it again..and lord help us all if he is…

  8. tanna / Apr 5 2011 6:50 AM

    It is discouraging, isn’t it? Seems like some common sense would better serve our country. blessings ~ tanna

  9. Diana Ferguson / Apr 5 2011 6:03 AM

    Great post and well said!!!

  10. Mary / Apr 5 2011 4:41 AM

    And I say they should pass a drug test in order to get the free money. So many people need to pass drug tests in order to keep their jobs. The people that don’t work should pass one in order to keep the money we earn for me. Agree?

    • Patty / Apr 7 2011 12:37 AM

      I had heard in some states they were trying to pass a law for this Mary. I would appreciate it very much. I am tired of taking care of dead beats who steal from the doctors office(lady stold a nurses credit card and used it for a week!) and then get their medical paid for by our government.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers