Skip to content
September 15, 2010 / dcwisdom

The Last Week of Hotness (well…maybe)

In Texas, there are only two seasons:  winter, early summer, summer, and late summer.

Having lived in the Lone Star State most of my life, I annually anticipate the last week of summer.  I welcome September and Friday night football, falling leaves, cool nights, and hot chocolate.  However, falling leaves don’t fall in Texas until November.  A cool night might surprise us in October, and hot chocolate has permanent residence on the pantry shelf, not seasonally fickle, but really good if you turn the thermostat down to 60 degrees.

Texas is hot.  Don’t let no one kid you.  And don’t use double negatives.  We Texans live on double negatives, like “I ain’t got no…”  Nevertheless, this little country town, through which I traverse periodically, is always on the proverbial ball, even in the heat of September. 

Why, we even wear white up until Christmas.  There’s really no point in wearing wool and boots while temps hover in the 90’s, even though there are some idiots fashion-conscious people who do.  But then, most Texans aren’t really fashion plates, except for maybe those silly Dallas Divas whose brains apparently fried in the Dallas heat.

See the girl in the green jacket?  She’s mad at her husband.  He told her her stockings were wrinkled.  She wasn’t wearing any.  It’s summer.

This guy says, “I wouldn’t be seen with a girl who goes out with someone as ugly as me!”  

Anyway, check out this little town, Hughes Springs, maybe for a little antique-shopping and Mexican food destination.  Dress accordingly.

Happy late summer!

Peace and love.

5 Comments

  1. Deb / Sep 15 2010 9:23 PM

    cute post….those crazy Dallas Divas….love the scarecrows…

  2. Debby Pucci / Sep 15 2010 3:16 PM

    Here in California too, we do get some cool weather but I still wear my white Birkenstocks. I wear what makes me happy. Love the scarecrows.

  3. Patty / Sep 15 2010 1:39 PM

    LOVE the pictures…thank you for sharing them with this Midwestern gal who is ready for 70 degree weather, changing leaves, and the great Fall Festivals that the Midwest is well known for. Enjoy your weather though.

  4. Vickie / Sep 15 2010 11:05 AM

    Hey Deb! Is this your little getaway? I’ve always of heard of Hughes Springs, but never been there. They must be having a scarecrow contest?

    I hear ya on the Texas heat – I’m still wearing sleeveless, sandals & capris, and as little as possible while at home. It’s still sweltering and it’s been so humid here. I dress for weather – not for fashion. I’ve seen some hoodies and boots and stuff on people – looks pretty dumb out there. No offense everyone. I’m just not fashion conscious at all. I go for comfort every time. If it happens to be cute, too, well then so be it!

  5. Diana Ferguson / Sep 15 2010 5:51 AM

    Fun post!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers