Skip to content
April 14, 2010 / dcwisdom

BATHROOM RULES (for the boys) (Because I am not your maid!)

Over the weekend, my house was filled with kids.  All but Kid #2 were at home.  Three boys and Mary and Brin shared a bathroom, and by Sunday afternoon, Mary couldn’t tolerate the condition of the bathroom.

Don’t laugh too hard, but the following are the rules she dictated to the guys via a computerized sign posted Sunday night on the back of the bathroom door:

BATHROOM RULES (for the boys)  (Because I am not your maid!)

1.  Do NOT throw your towels on the floor/sink/rack above toilet.  Put them ON THE TOWEL RACK.  That’s what it’s there for.   *Jeremiah’s reply:  Then scoot your stinkin’ towel over so there will be room!!!  *Mary’s reply:  There is plenty of room!

2.  Do NOT leave your clothes on the floor/sink/rack above toilet.  Put them in the dirty clothes basket or your room.  *Jere’s reply:  I better not catch anything of mine EVER thrown away or missing.  Because for every item I’m missing, you will miss 3 in return!!  I’m serious!    *Mary’s reply:   Are you threatening me?  My mother will be informed of this.

(My note:  And when I find out about this, there will be heck to pay!)

3.  Do NOT use my hair products and/or shower stuff unless you ask first.      *Jere’s reply:  One thing to say…You DID NOT buy those projects.  They were purchased w/ our Father’s $.  Therefore, they are NOT yours to control…meaning, it’s a free for all!  :)  *Mary’s reply:  Dad got them for ME!!     (My note:  Actually, I spend the money.  As it should be.)

4.  Flush the toilet all the way and take care of it if you stop it up.   *Jere’s reply:  So this toilet is capable of a half-flush?  Hmmm…interesting.   *Mary’s reply:  Yes.  Interesting!

5.  Do NOT talk loudly with each other at night while in the bathroom because my room is next door and I can hear everything you say.   *Jere’s reply:  That’s why sound-proofing was invented…  *Mary’s reply:  …but apparently it wasn’t used in here!

6.  After using your hair products/face wash PLEASE put them away in their designated spots.  Our bathroom is way too small to leave them laying around.  I might even throw them away.   *Jere’s reply:  And where are these designated spots?  Mind you, you also abide by these rules too, so if I ever catch your items out of place, it might come up missing.  Doesn’t matter if the razor “slipped” into the floor of the tub.   *Mary’s reply:  Designated spot = the place you found it.

7.  If you get dirt all over the bathroom PLEASE CLEAN IT UP and DO NOT leave it for me.  I don’t dirty it and make you clean up after me.   *Jere’s reply:  Some ppl have more important things to worry about than a little dirt.  Some do not.   *Mary’s reply:  Some ppl are rude & disrespectful.  Some are not.

PLEASE RESPECT THE PEOPLE WHO SHARE THIS BATHROOM WITH YOU!  We can get along well if you follow these simple rules.  Thank you.  :)

8.  PUT TOILET SEAT DOWN!!!   *Jere’s reply:  YOU pick it up!!!  If we put the toilet seat down for you to use, you will pick it up when you finish so we can use it later.  Got it???   *Mary’s reply:  I don’t understand this confusing statement.  GOT IT???

***********************************************

Lord, please help me!

I’m glad at least they didn’t have a shouting match and instead communicated on paper.  P.S.  Jere’s 21 going on 14; Mary’s 17.  They’ve never shared a bathroom.

“Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.”  Psalm 122:6

10 Comments

  1. tanna / Apr 15 2010 2:48 PM

    LOL! Enjoyed that little exchange! Too funny… as long as you are not one of the parties involved! LOL! I suspect this is serious business to them.

  2. nola at alamo north / Apr 15 2010 12:00 PM

    May I copy that and post it in my husband’s bathroom? The part about “put the seat down” and “I am not your maid” most certainly apply to him!

  3. Stacey at Living by Faith / Apr 15 2010 9:33 AM

    Love it! Thanks for sharing!

  4. Debby Pucci / Apr 15 2010 8:02 AM

    That is so funny. Thank you for the laugh.

  5. Debbie / Apr 15 2010 7:42 AM

    Gib, you need a vacation with some blogging friends. What say we get together in June and have some fun. None of our kids can come!
    C. Deb

  6. Jeanette / Apr 15 2010 6:45 AM

    Debbie, I hope you plan to compile all your posts into a book! It would make for one hilarious read.

    On sharing the bathroom among siblings, my Mama has 6 younger brothers and sisters and for most of her growing up time at home they had to share an outhouse. Now that’s my idea of roughing it!

  7. Vickie / Apr 15 2010 5:35 AM

    Reminds me of my kids. Daughter complained constantly about what slobs her brothers were. They complained about her taking so long and forgetting to flush. My middle son took a marker and WROTE ON THE TOILET SEAT – “PLEASE FLUSH” to help her remember. I made him go buy a new one…

  8. Bathroom Suite / Apr 15 2010 3:40 AM

    totally agree :D hilarious !! x

  9. Sue / Apr 15 2010 1:19 AM

    Love it! Supports my argument that many of today’s children are at a disadvantage as they have never had to share a bathroom. Lots of skills come from sharing space.

  10. Marylou55 / Apr 14 2010 11:33 PM

    Hilarious!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers